New from Connecticut

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gargon

Assistant Cook
I am an amateur self-taught home chef. I basically came to this site to learn as much as I can for free. I love to cook, and it's a great hobby, but not one I am willing to pay for classes to learn how to do it. The bottom line is the food. If it comes out tasting great, whether to me only, or to family and friends, that's my audience and that's all that matters. I don't have any plans to work in a restaurant or even to turn my hobby into a business. I would like to see what you all have to offer, what dishes you love to make, how to do different styles, incorporate other cuisines, etc. to expand my horizons and to spread variety among my family and friends.

What do you think are the things I should know or learn to ensure I have the most basic skills to be an above-average amateur self-taught home chef and make as many different dishes possible? (Think basics, not specifics, i.e. knife skills, cooking methods, identifying cuisines, etc.)

You have found the right spot. Some of us are just long time seniors who have learned through feeding family for decades. Some of us are pros in every meaning of the word. Whether it be a question about what type of utensil to buy when you're outfitting your first good kitchen, to how to best boil a potato, to how to put together a restaurant-caliber meal, you can find it here. Welcome.

First, welcome to DC.

Second, a good cookbook will have chapters on those skills. Many of us have favorite starter books, mine is Better Homes and Gardens.

Welcome. Claire and Princess summed things up pretty well! Have a good time!

Welcome.

Go grab a copy of Gastronomique(Larousse), and Food Lovers Companion.

You have come to the right place, ask away and I am sure you will get a wide variety of knowledgeable answers/solutions.