Newbie from Missouri

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cindercat

Sous Chef
Hi! I can't sleep so I thought I'd be productive and introduce myself so I can stop lurking around the discussions.
I'm a special education teacher currently assigned to a high school LifeSkills class. I try to teach them basic daily living skills such as cooking simple recipes, cleaning, social skills, etc. I like coming here to search for ideas for class and for myself. The problem is that I can get side tracked reading some interesting & funny conversations and spend more time than I planned. You guys are as addicting as video games so I don't visit unless I have time to spend or I need information. Oh, and can you tell that I like to talk?

Welcome to DC, cindercat! You know from lurking that this is not just a forum for food enthusiasts, but also a bunch of people who care about one another. What kind of recipes are most successful when sharing them with your students?

Howdy!
Welcome to D.C.!
I am sure that you already know that this is a special place on the 'Net.
I have a great deal of admiration for teachers in general and Special Education teachers in particular. It must be highly challenging and satisfying work!

Thanks everyone! I do enjoy working with my "special" kids. I've only worked with kids this low functioning for 2 years. I've always had more mainstream students with learning disabilities. I have to learn some new methods this year since 2 students have very little communication ability. I'll have to break cooking tasks into minute steps to find something my lower students can do.