"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2010, 04:59 PM   #11
Executive Chef
 
Selkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 3,796
Overheat protection requires the installation of a thermistor and a voltage level detection circuit, costing about $4.00 that translates into a $money$ added onto the price of the machine... money that, in a competitive market, some makers don't want to tack on. Overvoltage and overcurrent protect, resulting from a jambed or stalled motor is cheap and required for a UL listing, but overheating protection is not.
__________________

__________________
"Food is our common ground, a universal experience." - James Beard
Selkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:08 PM   #12
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
They'd probably save money in the long run, they just sent me a brand new one for not having that feature, plus its a safety concern. My case is probably an unusual one though, being that I used it for about 1 hour almost non stop. I started to make these chicken breast and brocoli shakes and I'd make them for about two day worth. So about 8 shakes I'd process, first the meat then the whole shake. Should I get a commercial model for amount I'm doing?
__________________

__________________
117len is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:26 PM   #13
Executive Chef
 
Selkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 3,796
My own unit is a combination food processor and has a separate blender attachment. Chopping up the ingredients, in small batches, using the food processor, could then be mixed into a shake using the blender.

As for the size or getting a commercial unit, I couldn't say. Will you always be making 8 shakes at a time?
__________________
"Food is our common ground, a universal experience." - James Beard
Selkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:47 PM   #14
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Yeah that could be another option of blending in a blender for the last part. Your a Sous Chef had you ever needed to puree a meat like chicken breast before? I read some articles on making baby food and I pretty much follow those directions. I got two microwaves and the chicken breast package fits perfectly in each and I don't want to be cooking everyday. I like to just zap my shake for 1 minute and drink it in one gulp, very healthy. I also don't have a kitchen in the apartment I'm living at. I read most bodybuilders prepare there meals in advance so I'm most likely going to continue to prepare 8 shakes at a time. Most likely add breaks inbetween blends.
__________________
117len is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:58 PM   #15
Executive Chef
 
Selkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 3,796
The "Sous Chef" is just part of the rating system here at Discuss Cooking based on the number of posts you've generated... not an occupation.

And no, I've never had the need to liquify meat before. Ages ago... in the last century, when I was going to school, I used to make a protein shake consisting of a Carnation Instant Breakfast, vitamin fortified protein powder and a raw egg. Now, I settle for a cup of coffee.

I do wish you luck in your body building endeavor.
__________________
"Food is our common ground, a universal experience." - James Beard
Selkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:33 AM   #16
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 150
Robot coupe R2N is protected-- Gage
__________________
gage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:48 AM   #17
Senior Cook
 
JamesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by gage View Post
Robot coupe R2N is protected-- Gage
Going from a $30 B&D to a Robot Coupe or Magimix (their home line) would be quite the stretch. You could get two dozen of the B&D for the price of an R2N. Of course, the R2N isn't going to burn down the apartment.

If you need to make that much at a time, you're going to need something heavier. Even then, an hour non-stop is an awful lot. The fourteen/sixteen cup food processors have great big motors, but they're absolute beasts for counter space. I don't know if they're really apartment material. If you're handling liquids, Cuisinart is a better choice than KitchenAid. The KA's liquid line is only a third of the bowl...and it will make a mess if you go over. The Cuisinart Elite models have a 20 year motor warranty too (3 years on the rest of it) versus one year on the KitchenAid. If you had a good blender for liquid handling, and used the FP for dryer ingredients, I'd go with the KitchenAid. They're pretty inexpensive (comparatively) and are easier to use IMO.
__________________
JamesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 11:20 AM   #18
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Metro New York
Posts: 8,764
Send a message via Yahoo to ChefJune
As far as I know only Cuisinart and KitchenAid -- of the food processors marketed for home cooks -- have the horsepower for some of the more strenuous tasks we wish our fps could do... like bread or cookie dough.

There is a reason why they cost more.
__________________
Wine is the food that completes the meal.
ChefJune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:12 PM   #19
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by 117len View Post
I got two microwaves and the chicken breast package fits perfectly in each and I don't want to be cooking everyday. I like to just zap my shake for 1 minute and drink it in one gulp, very healthy.
What is the chicken breast package made of? Also, are you making these shakes for a quick nutritional meal, or are you on some sort of liquid diet?
__________________
vagriller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:09 PM   #20
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
I missed typed, I don't put the entire package in. I take off the packaging and its frozen so the form of it still holds the packaged shape. A quick nutritional meal, not a liquid diet. 4 of my 5 meals are in shake form, except the last at night before bed.

I took the advice of the people who gave me advice and went with using my food processor to do the food and a blender to the finish off the liquid part of the process. I also did you research on "blenders for raw foods" and came up with Blendtec and Vitamix blenders as the top ones. I then read a review where they mentioned Oster blenders can do the same job and are a lot cheaper. I also googled commercial blenders and the cheapest one was the Oster Professional series, which bartenders use so I doubt I have to worry about overheating issues. Paid like 70.00 for it rather then 600 for a Blendtec or Vitamix. Probably buy Blendtec later though, they got a cool youtube channel called "Will it Blend" where they blend stuff like ipods and marbles.
__________________

__________________
117len is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.