"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances

Old 06-27-2010, 03:00 PM   #1
Sous Chef

Who juices (vegetables)?

I gave away a juicer years ago since it was hard to clean; I am toying with the idea of juicing veggies as I know it's healthy; however haven't drunk juiced beets or spinach and am really a beginner here. (I have juiced carrots, though and liked it.)

So - what juicer do you like,and how easy is it to keep clean? Thanks !

Old 06-28-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
Sous Chef

No one, huh? OK. Maybe I'll just look around.

Old 06-28-2010, 11:12 PM   #3
Head Chef

I use a juicer and love it, but it is a pain to clean, as they all are. Its the price I pay for being healthy. If you are truly serious about juicing then you get a masticating one or even a steamer, but they are expensive.
Old 06-29-2010, 07:00 AM   #4
Head Chef

We had a juicer many years ago, and ditched it for the same reason you did. Not sure if the technology has improved and they made them easier to keep clean. The only thing i juice now is apples. I bought myself and old fashioned apple cider press, which is even more of a pain in the butt to clean than the juicer. But, its the type of thing we use once or twice a year after going apple picking, so its more of a novelty than anything else/
Old 06-29-2010, 10:30 AM   #5
Master Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to ChefJune
Imho, juicing is such a good idea, and so good for the body that the benefits far outweigh the difficulty of cleaning. Besides, if you clean it right away, it really takes very little time. Just don't let the detritus dry inside the juicer.