Ebelskiver Cast Iron Skillet, help/tips?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jeni78

Senior Cook
Cooking friends - I inherited some cast iron (in a round about way, not my family) and one of the pans is an ebelskiver pan.

Took some searching to figure out what it was, I thought it was for escargot.

It's Danish and the traditional recipe is for these super versatile round pancakes. Can be stuffed with anything. I did cheese, chocolate and jam tonight. But next time will do sausage. ?

Anyone else have one/use it? Any other uses/use ideas?

What fun to play with new-to-me cookware ?

Please let me know how the photos turn out, this is my first time on the app and first time posting in a long time!

Cheers!

ImageUploadedByDiscuss Cooking1461121351.767169.jpgImageUploadedByDiscuss Cooking1461121365.337507.jpgImageUploadedByDiscuss Cooking1461121378.489727.jpgImageUploadedByDiscuss Cooking1461121389.254231.jpg

Eat anything you want, but make it yourself.

Posting from the app.

I stumbled across a ebelskiver video online a few years back, and thought " I had to get one of those pans" ( which I did). Now a few times a year, me and my daughter make them for breakfast as a team effort ( now 18, at the time she was probably 12 or 13).

Ours is a non stick and got it from 'Williams - Sonoma'. Actually, come to think of it, I think they were doing demos at the store, and then I went home, researched it, and went back and got on.

Wait , wait, I was in the lower east side, a small dive kinda place, and ordered banana filled ebelskiver's ( didn't know what they were, and had to try them. Liking them so much, i went home , did research, went to Williams - Sonoma and bought the pan, along with a few jars of the Ebelskiver mix ( one was chocolate, the other basic).

The pan came with two " flipping" tools.