Coffee experts welcome here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MikeWazowski

Assistant Cook
Hello, I hope you're doing well!

I'm looking for a coffee maker. Usually, I make coffee in cezve, so I don't savvy in coffee machines. Which one makes the better taste of coffee, the one that uses grounded coffee, or the one that uses coffee beans? The matter is that I move to the dormitory for some time and there is no stove in the room. Help!

I'm no expert. If you want to make turkish coffee in a dorm without a stove using a cesve you might use a portable stove like the guy in this video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5PtWraNRTY

I don't savvy coffee machines too well either. If you want American brewed coffee, drip coffee makers are inexpensive starting at about $15 and your college room-mate is less likely to burn down the dorm with it.

Or for about the same price as an inexpensive drip maker, you could buy an electric tea kettle and make coffee at least as good and probably better using a pour-over system. This one by Melitta is the least expensive as far as I know. This gives you control over the water temperature and to some extent how long coffee steeps.

But your questions about ground coffee or beans is where the quality of cup is mostly determined. Beans have to be roasted and then ground to make coffee. You can buy whole roasted beans and grind them yourself, but then you need to pick a grinder. The quality and type of bean, the type, and date of grind affect the quality of the coffee. You can even buy green coffee beans and roast them yourself but it's unlikely you want to take it that far even though that is the most rewarding part of the process.

Merry Chrismas and welcome to the forum.

Last edited:
Thanks for the detailed response. I don't consider buying a stove, unfortunately.