Fudge?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SlowCook66

Cook
Hi,

Newbie here!

I see different fudge recipes made with chocolate and also some made by replacing chocolate by coco powder? Which is the real way ?

Consider these two different fudge recipes:

Recipe #1
Condensed milk
Chocolate chips
Butter

Recipe #2
Condensed milk
Coco powder
Sugar
Butter

Both of them generate a fudge. But which one is really the authentic way of making fudge ?

Thanks

In the good old days, chocolate chips weren't available so the second recipe is older. However, either will do the trick. Try it both ways to find which tastes better to you. Really, that's what's most important.

In the good old days, chocolate chips weren't available so the second recipe is older. However, either will do the trick. Try it both ways to find which tastes better to you. Really, that's what's most important.
Hi Andy, Hey I thank you very much for replying to my question.

If I may ask you, I have a 2nd question.

First, I am using the 2nd recipe (the old one) and I am looking for a hard snap fudge. I am looking to make a fudge where when you press your finger on it with significant force, your finger doesn’t sink in the fudge.

So I have done the recipe but the inside doesn’t look quite smooth as a fudge should look like. It looks more of a dry cookie composition but not crumbly! Actually quite good and tasty.

Here is the recipe:

Powdered Sugar 150g
Corn syrup 1 tbsp
Condensed milk: 130g
Water: 15g
Cocoa powder 30g

While stirring the mixture in the pot I bring all the ingredients (except the Cocoa powder) to 118C, and then I add the Cocoa powder and mix some more.

I was hoping for a more smoother composition. I’m a little confused as to whether I should be stirring the sugars as they heat up to 118C while they boil?? (If I don’t stir them, the bottom of pot burns🤷🏻‍♂️).