Although Haggis isn't technically correct in saying that "rice wine vinegar" isn't made from rice wine, I do agree with him that rice vinegar and rice wine vinegar are essentailly the same thing and entirely interchangeable in most any recipe.
In order to convert rice (or fruit or other grains) to vinegar, it must be converted to alcohol before it's converted to vinegar. So, in essence, it starts as rice, becomes rice wine, and then becomes vinegar.
You can also take a bottle of a grain or fruit that has already been converted into alcohol (eg, sake, champagne, sherry, red wine, cider, etc.) and convert that into vinegar.
So, really, "rice vinegar and rice wine vinegar" are the same thing.
To further confuse ... there are various products in asian stores labeled as "rice vinegars" that actually began as rice wine or the end=product of sake. My local asian store carries maye 40 differnt kinds of rice vinegar.
Chinese rice vinegar usually comes in 3 types: black, red and white. Good black vinegar ("Chinkiang ") is sweet and often used as a condiment.*
Japanese rice vinegars are nearly all white and colorless.
The sweetness, taste, acidity, etc. are both a function of the type of vinegar and the quality of the manufacturer.
Rice wine vinegar and rice wine are not the same thing, obviously.
* Those of you near NYC will have had this if they enjoyed Joe's Shanghai soup dumplings