Italian Bread Crust not Smooth

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pigskins

Cook
Tried making a nice round loaf of Italian bread. I used a dough recipe from the book that came with my bread maker. And the end of the 70 minute cycle it had me put the dough in a greased bowl and let it rest for 25 minutes, then it said to punch it down and then form a round ball, then let that rise for 30 minutes before baking.

At the end of the 25 minute rest I had a good amount of dough, so I tried kneading (I'm new at this!). I flattened it out then started folding the dough onto itself, then a quarter turn, fold, repeat numerous times. The ball never really got super smooth like I've seen, so I kept kneading. After awhile though the dough ball looked like the surface of the moon! Well, no craters per se, but definitely not smooth. It looked more like a brain. I baked it anyway for about 30 minutes at 400 and it tastes great (LOOOOOVE fresh baked bread!) but just did not have that traditional look.

Do I just need more practice or did I screw up somewhere?

Before the second rising, instructions usually say, "punch it down..." which is really unfortunate, because getting rough with the risen dough at this point is not a good thing to do.

It should read, "Lightly press it down with your fingertips and gently fold the edges into the center as if you were making a envelope, then gather the ends and edges and carefully work them into a pinch, like the neck of a balloon. The top should now have stretched smooth. Place the formed loaf, pinch side down on your baking sheet (or floured peel if you are using a pre-heated baking stone), and let rise until doubled, then bake."