"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 09-26-2014, 04:27 PM   #1
Chef Extraordinaire

Pronounce this!

Would you buy items if they had these words on the packages?

This is why I think the saying "I don't eat what I can't pronounce" makes no sense. What people really mean is, "I don't want to eat it if I don't know what it is." Besides, I studied several languages and got quite good at pronunciation. I doubt one of these can trip me up That's not a good basis for nutrition decisions, either.

Old 09-26-2014, 04:46 PM   #2
Master Chef

I would buy the items, I'm not sure I would buy all of the claims.

I have wondered about this in a slightly different way over the years. My area of CNY has traditionally been a resettlement area for refugees. The new folks shop based on what they see, not based on what the label says. They stick to the perimeter of the store buying fresh food that looks familiar to them. When they venture into the interior of the store I think they rely mainly on the pictures shown on the boxes and cans. I bet they get some funny and perhaps frustrating experiences when they get home and open the containers. I have often wondered how I would do in a similar situation.

Old 09-26-2014, 05:07 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aunt Bea View Post
... When they venture into the interior of the store I think they rely mainly on the pictures shown on the boxes and cans. I bet they get some funny and perhaps frustrating experiences when they get home and open the containers. I have often wondered how I would do in a similar situation.