Storing cooked rice and pasta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sharla

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am a beginner cook/serious athlete and PhD student.

So I have absolutely no cooking talent and very limited money and time.

I like to take microwavable pre-cooked rice and pasta meals to work with me for easy meals during the week but this can be expensive.

I am looking for a way to pre-cook pasta and rice meals on weekends - preferably every 2nd weekend so that I can just add a tasty sauce, microwave it and stir at work.

Unfortunately rice or pasta I cook at home has a limited lifespan kept in the fridge.

Is there anyway I can increase it's lifespan like the precooked meals purchased in supermarkets?

Also any ideas fot the best sauces to go with them that can be pre-cooked and stored?

Thanks for your help :)

I think the best solution to your problem would be to prepare the sauce at the weekend, divide it up into suitable sized portions and freeze it.

Then on the morning, cook your pasta or rice. Cooking pasta and rice takes next to no time and can easily be done while your eating/showering/etc (or cook 2 days worth one morning and refrigerate what you don't take on the day). I would not suggest cooking the rice or pasta then freezing it, this will only result in poor texture.

Tomato sauces (and all it's variations) are simple to cook and freeze well.

One thing you might want to do is check out the frozen section of your grocery store to see what types of pasta and rice dishes are there. If they are freezing them, so can you. I know I have had some decent Fetticine Alfredo frozen entrees. Things with tomato based sauces seem to work well for freezing.

:) Barbara

You can freeze cooked rice and pasta. Toss it with just a little bit of olive oil and freeze with or without your sauce. Reheating rice in the microwave works best at lower levels.