Pig roast question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blacktie

Assistant Cook
Alright, gang...
I'm a complete newbie here. I'm thinking about buying a small pig to roast, but (now, please be kind... remember I'm new here) I wonder if it is possible to do a good job on a gas grill.
(oh, no.... do I hear laughing?)
I want to buy a 30 pounder, give or take a few pounds. I have a good sized, four burner grill with a rotisserie.
Am I a'dreamin'?:pig:

A great way to cook a pig.

Try a "la caja china" they are at lacajachina.com. I have one and have done over 20 pigs, lamb and lots of chickens. They are not that expensive. It you use a wired thermomter and it will be done perfectly. I did a whole lamb in 1 hour and it was overcooked. it is great for small pigs.
Go look at a 30 lb pig it is probably bigger that your grill. Let me know if you need ideas

looks good, but.....

la caja china looks very cool, BUT.... I'm trying to get rid of STUFF, not accumulate more. I guess part of my dilemma is that I really have no idea what a 30 pound pig will look like. How long, how wide, how much does it weigh. OH, WAIT A MINUTE, I guess I DO know how much it will weigh. (See, and you thought I was just a dumb blonde or something, huh?) I've done a little internet surfing and can't quite come up with dimensions for a 30 pound pig. Not exactly your typical google search, you know.
Thanks

Blacktie your statement about trying to get rid of stuff, not accumulate, resounded here.

I still have an aquisitive urge though and the china caja is going to take some serious resistance.

But I am made of sturdy stuff - I hope.

Wait a minute, I was going to say something - gotta have a point here.

Oh yes, ask the person you are going to buy the piggy from.

If you find out would love to know, there are just the two of us here, but have always wanted to do a piggy.

Thanks and take care.