"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Cakes & Cupcakes
Click Here to Login

Old 11-27-2016, 01:26 AM   #1
Chef Extraordinaire

Opinions from those who bake..

Many know that I'm not a baker but thought I'd give it another shot for T-day. This recipe from Ina Garden sounded good and easy. She's a cook I trust, but how does it sound to you?
Easy Cranberry and Apple Cake Recipe : Ina Garten : Food Network

I do not have a stand mixer, only a hand held one, but other than that, I'm sure I followed the directions exactly. The dang thing was an embarrassment to say the least. Blah.. It can't be that you actually need a "paddle mixer" to be a success with this, can it?

By the way, for those who don't know me, I'm a pretty darn good cook, although I remain a pitiful baker.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 01:33 AM   #2
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

This cake is closer to a light custard than anything else. If you were hoping for something like a layer cake, you won't get it here. It is eggy, spongy, airy and unsatisfactory if you wanted "cake". Does sound good, though. I'm sure you did nothing wrong.

Old 11-27-2016, 03:12 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

What exactly did you not like about it, Kay?

It sounds more like a clafouti than a cake to me: "A classic French country dessert, clafouti is made by pouring a sweet batter, similar to pancake batter, over fresh fruit. The eggy batter then bakes around the fruit, creating a light, airy, pudding-like texture—the perfect mix of airy and custardy. It's typically made with cherries, but plums, peaches, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries can all get the clafouti treatment (and, in the autumn, even sautéed apples and pears)."

http://www.epicurious.com/expert-adv...-fruit-article
Old 11-27-2016, 03:30 AM   #4
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator