Confused at result!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tessamay

Assistant Cook
Hey! I wonder if anyone has any ideas, I've just cooked the most disappointing meal! :(

Its a salmon asparagus fettuccine recipe: (courtesy of 'the joy of cooking')
asparagus (boiled then lightly fried (1min in butter - though I used mainly olive oil for health reasons and only a little butter)
mix in a skillet with cream and lemon zest, heat through (i may have done this longer than recommended...
add cooked spinach fettuccine, cooked salmon, chives and chopped parsley

i'm very new at cooking so didn't do it EXACTLY as the recipe said, cos my timing is bad, but i thought this sounded easy and tasty.. but it was SO SO bitter! so gross! what could it be? could it be one of the ingredients? would the fact that I combined olive oil with a little bit of butter make it bitter (i'm sure thats a terrible no no in cooking! ;) ). could it be the asparagus? can asparagus be bitter? or did i cook the asparagus in the cream too long? what about the parsley? I don't know what it could be! the salmon I think tasted ok on its own.

any tips/comments would be much appreciated! thanks a million!

i'm very confused.. i could taste through the bitterness that it could be a lovely recipe, but just SO bitter!

I just looked up the recipe in Joy, and there are 3 elements that are or can be bitter. Capers - lemon zest - undercooked asparagus. There is nothing sweet to offset all these bitter ingredients.

My first reaction is reduce the quantity of lemon zest and/or capers just a bit, and make sure your asparagus is cooked until it's tender.

My second reaction is to add some sweetness. Onion or shallot sauteed until golden might help, a tender sweet vegetable such as diced carrot, or as a last resort, a TINY pinch of sweetness from sugar or honey.

The olive oil/butter ratio did not cause the bitterness.