What are your favorite and disliked kitchen utensils?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Taskisla

Washing Up
Hi! I am a product design student at Istanbul Technical University. I am assigned to design a 3-piece kitchen utensils kit. Now, I am on a research, asking people about their tasks and tools they used for these tasks. I have some questions for you, if you give answers I will be appreciated.

1.Which tasks do you complete mostly while food preparation process?
Example: Washing, peeling, cutting, mixing, grating etc.

2.Which tasks are time wasting and difficult to you?

3.Which methods do you generally use for cooking?
Example: Boiling, frying, grilling etc.

4.Which utensils do you use mostly for preparation and cooking process? Which materials do you prefer for these utensils?

5.Do you have disliked utensils? What is the problem with it?

You can post images to show your useless or disfunctioning products if you have any.

One thing that can happen with cooking is the food sticking to the pans. I find that most utensils are not sharp enough to dislodge the food from the pan without leaving the flavorful, crispy and desireble coating stuck to the pan. For years I have been using a paint scraper from the hardware store to slowly scrape things that are pan fried or oven roasted. Naturally you can't use this on non stick pans, so I rarely use them. I have never found a plastic or nylon utensil that is firm and thin/sharp enough to perform this function with not stick cook wear.

1) Washing and knife work (cutting, chopping, dicing, mincing, etc.)

2) Washing and drying food such as bundles of herbs or large amounts of foods that need to be dry to cook properly.

3) Searing, sauteing, baking,roasting, broiling, braising, steaming, boiling, stir frying. I rarely grill or fry things.