"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Sous-Vide Cooking
Click Here to Login

Old 05-13-2020, 02:49 PM   #1
Chef Extraordinaire

Opinions from Sous-Vide Cooks...

I'm just about to send for these, and I don't see anywhere on the site that says they are suitable for SV cooking. I really like the screw on plastic one piece lids.

Opinions please..?
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ball-Regu...SABEgI3B_D_BwE

I'm also ordering 2 sets of shaker lids to be used for spices...I like that they are squaty and easy to stack.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ball-Herb...Count/36029316

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 03:03 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Sorry Kayelle. I have no experience with SV jars.
Old 05-13-2020, 03:16 PM   #3
Head Chef

That sounds incredibly expensive! The last batch of 64 oz mason jars I got (last summer some time) were only $16.95 for a half dozen!
Old 05-13-2020, 03:21 PM   #4
Head Chef

Kayelle
All the canning jars That I
buy come with the lids, In use
those in the Sous Vide and they
work great Do not leak.
Josie
Old 05-13-2020, 03:59 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepperhead212 View Post
That sounds incredibly expensive! The last batch of 64 oz mason jars I got (last summer some time) were only $16.95 for a half dozen!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josie1945 View Post
Kayelle

All the canning jars That I
buy come with the lids, In use
those in the Sous Vide and they
work great Do not leak.
Josie

Do they have one piece plastic screw on lids? Thanks in advance PH and Josie

Old 05-13-2020, 04:29 PM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire

The jars (not the plastic lids) can be used for pressure cooking, so there's no reason they couldn't be used in sous vide.