Jalapeno cleaner (deseed & devein)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LKJR

Assistant Cook
I do not have any experience with those tools. I just use a pair of gloves. They can be used for many other things too like handling chicken or anything else.

This is the kind I use.

I have a very yellowed box of Wallgreens brand latex gloves under the sink. Shortly after buying the box, my knife skills improved enough that they were no longer needed. Of course, I don't wear contacts. I just pulled one out and put it on. Even though it must be 10 yrs. old it is still air tight.

Like GB, I have no experience with either tool. Sorry.

Last edited:
The capsaicin (sp?) found in chile peppers is an alkalie. It can be neutralized with an acid. After handling jalapenos, I scrub my fingers with vinegar then wash them thoroughly. Works for me.

Hello and welcome to DC. I use the Playtex regular gloves and the Playtex heavy duty gloves because I don't want anything to get on my hands or my fingers.

I usually use these gloves when I am cutting up meats etc.

I finally learned my lesson & ALWAYS wear disposable gloves when I'm working with jalapenos. There's something I use to de-seed & devein the peppers that does an excellent job but this is gonna sound strange!

We have 4 parrots. 3 of them were hand raised & we continued handfeeding them for a little while after they came home. What we used was a regular teaspoon with the sides curved up - we bent the spoon with heat & pliers. I kept the spoon & use it all the time when I make poppers.