Problem cooking meatballs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Helcifer

Assistant Cook
Hi Guys, I'm a newbie who is learning how to cook. Recently I have problem cooking meatballs. When I put the meatballs into the frying pan (which was covered with cooking oil & butter), the balls immediately sticked onto the surface of the pan.

And by the time I tried to roll or move the balls, the surface of the balls peeled off, therefore the shape of the meatballs was ruined.. Was it because the heat was too high? I notice that the meatball's surface that touched the pan first turned will blackish quickly (a sign of overcooked?).

Does anyone have any ideas to solve this problem?

Thanks! =)

Firstly, welcome to DC Helcifer. Was the oil/butter smoking? My initial thoughts are that either the pan was too hot, insufficient oil/butter, or too gluggy mixture.

Try having it not so hot or putting a bit more oil in. You could also try flouring the meatballs before putting in the pan.

I bake them on my broiler pan. No sticking, turn only once, they also don't sit in the grease that way.

Last time I made mini chicken rissoles, I poached them in chicken stock. They didn't stick that way either!! Don't know that that helps though! LOL

Plus, it sounds like you didn't let the meat "release" before you tried turning. Of course if they were turning black, I can see why you might not wait.

You can also cook meatballs in the microwave on a bacon rack, and they won't need to be turned at all. They don't get brown, but they taste just as good in the sauce.

Hi Guys, I'm a newbie who is learning how to cook. Recently I have problem cooking meatballs. When I put the meatballs into the frying pan (which was covered with cooking oil & butter), the balls immediately sticked onto the surface of the pan.