What are you baking today?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Ma for that link to the banana bread. I will make it as soon as I have six brown bananas in the house.

Thanks for the link to the video Mama. What's the white bit in the middle of your banana bread slice?

That's butter melting on a warm slice of the bread! :w00t:

I was beginning to suspect why my banana bread was so good. I have been using only frozen bananas for the past 10 years or so. My recipe calls for 1.25 cups of banana. That's usually 5 frozen bananas. They shrivel a bit and a lot of frost develops in the bag, that must be moisture escaped from the 'nanas.

Next time I will peel the 'nanas into a colander and reduce the liquid.

I personally think freezing is easier than all that fussing with the microwave. Of course, I almost always have some frozen 'nanas in the freezer. We never seem to finish them before they are too ripe. Well, actually I buy enough to save some for 'nana bread. I let them get really, really ripe before I freeze them.

Reducing the liquid gives it an amazingly strong banana flavor.

I saw an episode of ATK the other day where they made the ultimate banana bread so I thought that I would give it a try. Okay, so now it's my new banana bread recipe. It is so full of banana flavor! It is amazing!!!! Not that my old banana bread recipe was bad :LOL: but this is just incredible. It's a little more work than regular banana bread since you use more bananas (6 large for one loaf), you have to microwave them, strain and then take the juice and reduce it in a saucepan. It really concentrates the banana flavor.

May I have the recipe please? I couldn't figure out how to get the recipe without watching the show. :huh: