"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Fish & Seafood

Old 10-30-2010, 07:59 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Caviar made from Trout!

Hi. My first real post. I'm an amateur chef (my Mom was a real one) and I'm working on a recipe book that features cuisine of the BC Central Plateau (I live in Prince George)

As I hunt and fish, I have a whack of experience in these areas, and I thought I'd start off by sharing some.

I make my own caviar. The procedure is quite simple:

Trout skeins (eggs)
kosher salt
250 ml pickling jars

Separate the eggs from the skeins in a non-reactive seive of some kind. Rinse thoroughly. Take your jars (sterilized, of course) and put in a layer of about 1/4" of eggs. Follow by sprinkling on about 1/2 tsp salt. Then more eggs, and more salt, until you fill the jar about 3/8" or so below the top.

Place the lid on loosely, and put the jar in the refridgerator. Open the top every day twice (don't leave it on airtight! The caviar might spoil!) and let it cure for about 10 days or so.

Trout caviar is delicious, I feel better than salmon, better than lumpfish and only a notch below utility grade beluga. But the source for eggs is spawning fish, which you are going to have to catch yourself in the Spring. The rest of the fish is not great at that time of year, but can be smoked and the carcass used for stock for chowder or dashi, quite successfully.

Here are a couple of pictures of presentation, with blinis, homemade pepper crackers and sour cream!

Thanks for looking in!

Old 10-31-2010, 02:03 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
That looks terrific. Unfortunately, I will probably never get a chance to make that - I really don't enjoy fishing.

Those dark brown crackers/bread, are they home made?

Old 10-31-2010, 02:07 PM   #3
Half Baked

That looks great!

My Flickr stuff!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/e_maxwell_photography/