Strange ingredients with common counterparts...why use them?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crono760

Cook
I'm sure there are valid reasons, but I don't know what they are. I don't want to experiment with the "gourmet" versions of common things just yet, since I'm still learning the common things :-p But:

Why would you use a quail egg instead of a chicken egg?
Why would you use "Wild Boar Sausage" instead of just a pork sausage?
Why would you use truffles at all :)rofl:I'm not really fond of truffles)

To me, those ingredients sound like the cook is saying "hey, look at me, I know how to cook gourmet", instead of "I love cooking". I'm hopefully wrong, but can someone tell me why?

Why would you use grape jelly on your PB&J instead of strawberry? The answer is the same for the questions you asked. They taste different.

That's true, I suppose (A big disclaimer about this thread is I've yet to actually eat any of these things). But I'd be worried that someone who's just in to try some good food would be confused with the additions, and maybe the new taste would be lost? Like, do they taste as different as grape vs. strawberry jelly, or is it more subtle?

Mike

Well I have only had the sausages. I do not eat eggs and have not had the opportunity to try truffles so I can't speak to the subtleties of those two.

With the sausages though, it really depends on the different sausages themselves. You could have two pork sausages that taste completely different from each other and they are both pork. If you have a pork sausage and a wild boar sausage well they may be vastly different from each other or they may be very similar. It depends on how they are made and the particular animal they came from.