"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 01-16-2014, 11:49 PM   #2541
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooking Goddess View Post
Actually, optometrists can diagnose. Here in MA an optometrist can even prescribe some medications. If they see a cataract they can call it a cataract, they just can't treat the cataract. They have to refer the patient on to an ophthalmologist. Ophthalmology is just another medical discipline, like OB/GYN or cardiologist.

Heck, nowadays PAs and NPs can do so many things that were once the domain of doctors only.
I didn't mention any specific state. I know what an optometrist can and can not do here in Massachusetts. I have been wearing glasses for 70+ years. So I am aware of that fact. And I do know the difference between an optometrist and ophthalmologist. I may be up there in years and long in the tooth, but I still have all my faculties.

Old 01-17-2014, 12:04 AM   #2542
Master Chef

Didn't mean to get your knickers in a twist Addie. My main point is that it is acceptable for an optometrist to recognize any medical condition that is required to be treated by an eye MD. If my optometrist sees that I have a cataract he isn't required to say "I think you need to see a doctor about your left eye". He can tell me he suspects I might have a cataract and that I need to see an ophthalmologist for a more complete diagnosis and any possible treatment.

Old 01-17-2014, 12:08 AM   #2543
Chef Extraordinaire

Nothing gets my dander up quicker than if you attack one of my children or say or do something that makes me look stupid. Apology accepted with grace (I hope). Thank you for understanding.
Old 01-17-2014, 12:18 AM   #2544
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooking Goddess View Post