Simplest Oriental dish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Many of them, at least the Asian-American versions, are easy once you get a basic understanding of the traditional ingredients and the everyday substitutions for some of those ingredients.

I would start with a basic stir fry using thinly sliced meat, fresh vegetables and soy sauce, sesame oil, sherry, ginger, cornstarch.

“Oriental is an adjective used to describe rugs, not people.” - David Paterson, former Governor of New York

Simplest at home, egg drop soup.

Simplest main dish for home cooks, fry-roast chicken.

LOL - does not the OP's title and post imply that? ;)

To my way of thinking - the simplest recipe would have to be a recipe even a complete novice could do. That's what makes it simple!

Many years ago, our wonderful Kayelle shared a recipe that I have made over and over. It is so simple and very addicting. Sesame Noodles.....simply delicious.
Those sesame noodles really are easy and deliciously addictive. I should make another batch soon. It's also handy, because you can serve it room temperature.

I have not made this yet but I think it was posted awhile ago. I've seen a couple of Dragon Lady's recipes and all have been good. Now with CMT I can note and remember to make odd recipes I come across more often (CMT compliments of taxy, tto whom I say thanks again)

Which I have now just discovered I had already saved :rolleyes: :blush:

Something I've been eating since my teen years, when I'd go out to Chinese restaurants with my parents, and they used to put a plate of those quick pickled cucumber sticks, to eat while checking the menu. I had to learn how to make those, and someone told me how they did it, in broken English, but she told me how. The only thing that really made it Chinese was the slight drizzle of sesame oil.