"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Fish & Seafood
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2007, 05:17 PM   #1
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
ISO advice making almond-crusted salmon

I want to crush up some almonds and coat some sockeye salmon i have.

what would be a good binder? I want a really good adhesive i hate crusts that fall apart.


Also, should i cook it as normal? Medium heat, ss skillet, olive oil, 3 minutes a side.

Cheers guys!

__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:33 PM   #2
The Dude Abides
 
TATTRAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bermuda Native in D.C./NoVA
Posts: 5,428
Send a message via AIM to TATTRAT Send a message via Yahoo to TATTRAT Send a message via Skype™ to TATTRAT
No binder, just spin up your almonds real well. I have also had fine results with just sliced almonds. Just press the fish into them really well.

Start almond side down, medium heat, toast, flip, finish.
__________________
flickr

@JONOBRANDS
TATTRAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:46 PM   #3
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
you mean put em in the blender?

could i still to this fish with lemon if i crust it with almonds?
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:06 PM   #4
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 496
I don't see why not on the lemons. And to reiterate the guy with egg on his face (:P) you don't really need a binder. I regularly crust my salmon with macadamia nuts (heavenly, but a little pricey). I do use olive oil on the fish, but it's hardly what I'd call a binding agent.
Poppinfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:08 PM   #5
The Dude Abides
 
TATTRAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bermuda Native in D.C./NoVA
Posts: 5,428
Send a message via AIM to TATTRAT Send a message via Yahoo to TATTRAT Send a message via Skype™ to TATTRAT
Not blender, but food processor.
__________________
flickr

@JONOBRANDS
TATTRAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:19 PM   #6
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
at moms house...no access to food processor.... is it even worth it. i would think a blender would have a similar effect.
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:22 PM   #7
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Use a chefs knife leg. Just chop them up nice and fine. I think a blender might make them too fine. A knife won't take very long though.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:29 PM   #8
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
This is "previously frozen" sockeye salmon ....i forgot to smell it..i hope its worth a crap....is previously frozen fish any good? ugh.
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:32 PM   #9
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 496
Got news for ya, Big: Most fish is previously frozen. It's fine, especially for someone who lives in Texas. You don't have the benefit of living literally a couple of miles away from fresh salmon like some of us; just like we don't have the luxury of living next to shrimp.
Poppinfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:36 PM   #10
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
well we can get awesome fresh fish..but usually only one at a time...they had fresh halibut only today and i didnt wanna pay 20 a pound
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:40 PM   #11
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mylegsbig View Post
well we can get awesome fresh fish..but usually only one at a time...they had fresh halibut only today and i didnt wanna pay 20 a pound
That's different though; you can get halibut in the Gulf Coast IIRC. The salmon you're talking about is Pacific Northwest. Your salmon had to travel about 2000 miles to get to you :P
Poppinfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:42 PM   #12
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
uh oh

How does the seasons of Sockeye Salmon work? Its so much prettier than other salmon ive seen. is it available year round?
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:01 PM   #13
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mylegsbig View Post
uh oh

How does the seasons of Sockeye Salmon work? Its so much prettier than other salmon ive seen. is it available year round?
Wild caught is not available year round, no.
Farm caught is, and there are a number of salmon farms in this region.

But if you think Sockeye is great, try Coho or Steelhead.
Poppinfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 01:05 AM   #14
Senior Cook
 
eatsOats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OR/CA Border
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poppinfresh View Post
Wild caught is not available year round, no.
Farm caught is, and there are a number of salmon farms in this region.

But if you think Sockeye is great, try Coho or Steelhead.
Co-sign on the fish in the PNW. My father is a fishing guide in the Columbia River Gorge, and the Steelhead we catch on the Deschutes River in Oregon are by far the tastiest I've had! And man do they put up a good fight.
eatsOats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.