"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2013, 07:19 PM   #21
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 24,698
Yes. I would delete them.
__________________
Anyplace where people argue about food is a good place.
~ Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown, 2018
GotGarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:33 PM   #22
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Delete or quarantine. Whatever your option is.
But that did not fix it on my end. I needed Hoot's link. Although it's always a good idea to run adaware and malware bytes now and then. What one doesn't find the other usually does.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:02 AM   #23
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
I too recommend Ad-Aware...

I've been running Firefox since it started as Mosaic, then Mozilla ... And eventually became FF. that's about 18 years...

I remember I had to compile Mosaic on my Sun workstation. That was 1995.
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:39 AM   #24
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
Delete or quarantine. Whatever your option is.
But that did not fix it on my end. I needed Hoot's link. Although it's always a good idea to run adaware and malware bytes now and then. What one doesn't find the other usually does.

It didn't fix it here either, so I too will have to use Hoot's link. I really don't understand it all, but if I follow along step by step I should be OK. I am also getting a warning from Cisco, my WIFI network every time I click into a post on the forum and also on another forum I belong to. I just click out of it and continue, but eventually I have to address that. I had that once before but I can't remember how I got rid of it.

Computers are such fun.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:45 AM   #25
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
It didn't fix it here either, so I too will have to use Hoot's link. I really don't understand it all, but if I follow along step by step I should be OK. I am also getting a warning from Cisco, my WIFI network every time I click into a post on the forum and also on another forum I belong to. I just click out of it and continue, but eventually I have to address that. I had that once before but I can't remember how I got rid of it.

Computers are such fun.
What warning is that?
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:39 AM   #26
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
Here is the warning I get. I just got it when I clicked on "quote" to reply to a post. It's not just here that I get it, but also on most other sites. I think it has something to do with the issue we are discussing in this thread. Notice that it also has the items in red underlined, the same as the ones I am getting in the posts here. It comes up with the Cisco logo which is my router. I had this warning before but I can't remember how I got rid of it. I am waiting to see if Hoot's link was any help to Pacanis, and also the time to go through the steps.

Possible web threat

[content redacted by DC moderator - malicious links.]
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:53 AM   #27
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,988
I got a similar warning on another site. The warning window gave me a link to a Google site that tests websites for containing viruses, malware, etc and that site gave them a clean bill. I still got the warning. I notified their tech support and it has subsequently been cleared up.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:27 AM   #28
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
Hallelujah! I saw this fix online. I went into the program for my Cisco router and disabled "safe web surfing." I have tried and tried, and I am no longer getting the warning of Possible Web Threat. I restarted my PC and now I am no longer getting the words in red in the posts with the pop-up ads attached. Since a few people were posting online that they were having this problem with their Cisco router I believe that it might be a glitch in the router. For months we didn't have the router connected because my lap top was crashed. After we got the lap top fixed, we re-connected the router, a month or so ago. So I think with Ad-Aware installed and running I should be OK from now on. I don't think I need Hoot's link, but I saved it for future reference.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:16 PM   #29
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Holy crapiola batman

I read through a few threads, clicked on this one and saw this!
Click image for larger version

Name:	dc screenshot.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	18655

Then after I had saved it and went to post about it I got it again when the computer opened the advanced reply window.

What the heck is going on here lately?
Hoot, are you on this? Nobody else appears to be. Along with the numerous times (sometimes) that it takes to upload a picture here
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:18 PM   #30
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I wonder if it has something to do with me only seeing a black X on Carol's last post where a picture should be? I can't move around in this thread at all without getting that password window.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:25 PM   #31
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
The image shows an IP address 192.168.1.1 which is a default IP address for a Linksys E1000 router. Is that your router?
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:48 PM   #32
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
What image? The one in Carol's post that I can't see?
I don't know my router's # offhand.
On the positive side, I'm in this thread and it did not appear this time.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:00 PM   #33
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
What image? The one in Carol's post that I can't see?
I don't know my router's # offhand.
On the positive side, I'm in this thread and it did not appear this time.
I was referring to the screenshot you posted of the window asking for a username and password.
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:02 PM   #34
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
For what it's worth, I don't see any image or place holder in Carol's last post. Strange.
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:33 PM   #35
Certifiable Executive Chef
 
Janet H's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
Here is the warning I get. I just got it when I clicked on "quote" to reply to a post. It's not just here that I get it, but also on most other sites. I think it has something to do with the issue we are discussing in this thread. Notice that it also has the items in red underlined, the same as the ones I am getting in the posts here. It comes up with the Cisco logo which is my router. I had this warning before but I can't remember how I got rid of it. I am waiting to see if Hoot's link was any help to Pacanis, and also the time to go through the steps.

Possible web threat

[content redacted by DC moderator - malicious links.]
Carol I removed the text you had pasted into this post. It had multiple links to sites that download crap to your computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
Holy crapiola batman

I read through a few threads, clicked on this one and saw this!


Then after I had saved it and went to post about it I got it again when the computer opened the advanced reply window.

What the heck is going on here lately?
Hoot, are you on this? Nobody else appears to be. Along with the numerous times (sometimes) that it takes to upload a picture here
That popup did not come from DC - my guess is that you clicked on a link to someones internet providers, security portal or similar or possibly one of the links we've just removed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
I wonder if it has something to do with me only seeing a black X on Carol's last post where a picture should be? I can't move around in this thread at all without getting that password window.
The little black x's are just images that are slow to load. Our server loads the text to posts first and then then images last. Sometimes the images can be slow - especially if your connection is bogged down. Often refreshing the page solves this issue. They aren't harmful.

Folks, after carefully reading this thread I think the issue is malware or tracking cookies on personal computers - plain and simple. Please be careful about where you surf and what you click on. Make sure your are running good, undated antivirus protection and have a secure firewall. Be careful!
__________________
Forget love... I'd rather fall in chocolate!
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 02:40 PM   #36
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Cooking Goddess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Body in MA ~ Heart in OH
Posts: 13,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H View Post
...Folks, after carefully reading this thread I think the issue is malware or tracking cookies on personal computers - plain and simple. Please be careful about where you surf and what you click on. Make sure your are running good, undated antivirus protection and have a secure firewall. Be careful!
And it's not necessarily clicking that will do it. A long time back I was skimming through threads and saw what looked like an interesting site link as a new member's signature. Rather than click on it, I did the "open a new frame/type in the address/click" and saw a nice cooking site, peeked around, then closed the frame. No problem, right? Um, no. Turns out the site was evil, gummed up the computer like crazy, and took Himself (my in-house tech support with a bazillion years of computer expertise) quite a while to hunt down and kill off any demons. I now do not go to any suggested websites from new users unless I actually recognize the site's name.

Sometimes it's like catching chicken pox - you don't know you've been exposed because the person (computer) with the virus doesn't look sick until after you've picked up the bug.
__________________
“You shouldn’t wait to be senile before you become eccentric.”— Helene Truter

"Remember, all that matters in the end is getting the meal on the table." ~ Julia Child
Cooking Goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 02:43 PM   #37
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
Thank you Janet, for removing the problem in my post. I did not realize that it would cause a problem. For what it's worth, I am no longer having any of the problems I was having before and I hope they don't come back. If I caused a problem for anyone else, I am really sorry.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 06:59 AM   #38
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
After I got my computer back to normal I have been checking regularly to be sure there have not been any malware or other site on my computer. This morning there were about 10 of them that were put on yesterday, 10/3. I cleared them off and all is well, but can anyone tell me why I am getting these all of a sudden and what I can do to stop them?
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:33 AM   #39
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
You need good antivirus software...Avast has a free edition. AVAST 2013 | Download Free Antivirus Software for Virus Protection
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:59 AM   #40
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
I have Ad-Aware and also Microsoft Security Essentials. I get messages from both of them that they are catching things, but when I look in uninstall programs I see these things listed and I can tell by the date it says they were installed that they are not something I installed. I guess I will have to keep installing Antivirus programs until I find one that will work for me.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.