ISO advice making pumpkin pies using fresh pumpkin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MNTaxi

Cook
I planted some Sugar Pumpkins for making pies and I've never done ths before. I've always planted Pumpkins for carving Jack O Lanterns.

How do you know when they are ripe enough to make pies out of them?

I'm pretty new at baking and cooking. My Mom and grandma use to do all of it. Since they are both gone I just started developing an interest in it.

This is the recipie I am planning on using.

How to Make Homemade Pumpkin Pie - from a Real Pumpkin, Not a Can! - Easily! With Step-by-step Directions, Photos, Ingredients, Recipe and Costs

THANKS!

Great site. It even gives you all the ways to cook the pumpkin. I like baking them best. I had a friend who boiled hers, but I think it made the pumpkin flesh have less flavor than baking.

Yeah they basically tell you everything. I call it my Recipies for dummies website. I love it.

My big question is how do you know when they are ripe enough to make pies with?

When they turn 100% Orange? Most of mine have been orange for close to 2 weeks and the plants are already mostly dead.

You'd thing so. I just want to make sure I don't have to let them set for a week or so before using them.

Don't think you have to let them set....If they are Orange and the vines are dead....You are good to go ~~ don't let them set too long in the punkin patch..or you may run the risk of them rotting...especially if it's "wet weather"

If the skins are hard and you can't make much of mark with your thumbnail, they are ready. And if the vines are dead, they won't get any 'readier'!

I roasted my pumpkins last year for pie--I cut them in half, seeded and scraped the inside, and roasted them cut side down til they were soft. If you roast them cut side up, you will get hard brown surfaces that don't puree well.