ISO help/advice on purchasing an induction wok

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MikeWazowski

Assistant Cook
Hey! I've never ordered dishes from online shops and I need your feedback if you have such experience.
I want to purchase an induction wok. Any suggestions?
Also, I'll be glad if you advise me on a good online shop for buying dishes. Thanks

While I have no experience with an induction wok, my experience with 120v induction cooktops is that they can't supply enough heat to keep high temps with a substantial amount of ingredients. There is just not enough current available. I suppose it might be ok with small amounts of ingredients.

As for dishes and stuff online, I like:

https://www.webstaurantstore.com/

The problem you are going to run into with using a wok on induction, or any electric surface, is that only that small area on the bottom is heating, and the heat is only slowly conducting up the sides. You could try a cast iron wok, and pre-heat it a while - the cast iron will hold a lot more heat than the thin aluminum or carbon steel. I use mine on the induction in the summer, but more for slower cooked dishes, not stir fries.

Hi Chief!
Thanks for the article I found this useful. There said that carbon steel woks are about the same weight as iron woks, but what if to purchase an aluminum one? I suppose it'll be lighter and cheaper, but what disadvantages are there? According to this:
The problem you are going to run into with using a wok on induction, or any electric surface, is that only that small area on the bottom is heating, and the heat is only slowly conducting up the sides. You could try a cast iron wok, and pre-heat it a while - the cast iron will hold a lot more heat than the thin aluminum or carbon steel. I use mine on the induction in the summer, but more for slower cooked dishes, not stir fries.