What to cook for Dom Perignon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pback

Assistant Cook
Hey there!
I've got my hands on a bottle of Dom Perignon (2000) (also got a bottle of 2002, but I'm going to safe that for later:)), and I don't really know what to serve with it?

I'm a pretty decent cook, but I rarely do fancy stuff and this time I want to get it just right.

I'm thinking that I want to make a lot of small dishes, but I would like some inspiration.

Can you help me?

Best regards,
Peter:chef:

Champagne pretty much goes with everything. Especially simple things. I like to have oysters on the half shell with champagne, no sauce, just fresh oysters. Or even some caviar on water crackers or toast points, if you're looking to splurge.

One Xmas, back in the late '70s, me and the ex and a friend were pretty short on cash. We pooled our money and it came to about $100.

Xmas supper was: lobsters with melted butter, asparagus, and a bottle of Dom Perignon. Very enjoyable and memorable.

I had a couple of magnums of the 2000. They were a gift from my employer at the time.Goos stuff!

How about coconut shrimp or a seafood beshamel over rice.

have to tell you that one of the best pairings with Champagne is potato chips! No joke.

Seriously, anything you want to eat will go swimmingly with your Dom P.

A votre Sante!

I was given a bottle of 1983 Dom P for my birthday a few years ago and decided to just save it for a special occasion. I still have that bottle. Is is any good?

It depends on how well it stored.Only one way to find out!

10 years is about it but that can be doubled or tripled if stored properly.A magnum will last longer than a 750.

I was given a bottle of 1983 Dom P for my birthday a few years ago and decided to just save it for a special occasion. I still have that bottle. Is is any good?