"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2013, 08:05 AM   #41
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
We started using Avast 7 years ago, finally started purchasing it. The Free edition let nothing in.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:07 AM   #42
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
Having more than one AV may not be a good idea.
PC World - One Anti-Virus is Better Than Two
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:10 AM   #43
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoot View Post
Having more than one AV may not be a good idea.
PC World - One Anti-Virus is Better Than Two

I have heard that too, Hoot, but when Ad-Aware did not seem to be stopping the malware I tried to uninstall it, but it will not let me. I get the option to repair but not to uninstall. I don't really want to use a program that isn't doing what I need it to do.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:10 AM   #44
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 24,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
I have Ad-Aware and also Microsoft Security Essentials. I get messages from both of them that they are catching things, but when I look in uninstall programs I see these things listed and I can tell by the date it says they were installed that they are not something I installed. I guess I will have to keep installing Antivirus programs until I find one that will work for me.
Computer viruses do all kinds of sneaky things. The date shown may not be the true install date.
__________________
Anyplace where people argue about food is a good place.
~ Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown, 2018
GotGarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:17 AM   #45
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
I, personally, scan my system with Malwarebytes periodically. It is not AV but is very good at removing malware. I use MSE for real time protection. Never had an issue.
Is your firewall turned on?
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:28 AM   #46
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoot View Post
I, personally, scan my system with Malwarebytes periodically. It is not AV but is very good at removing malware. I use MSE for real time protection. Never had an issue.
Is your firewall turned on?
Same question I was just going to ask! I have three firewalls, Internet provider, e-mail provider and the MS firewall that came with the computer. Took a bit to get them to work together, but worth it.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:31 AM   #47
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessFiona60 View Post
Same question I was just going to ask! I have three firewalls, Internet provider, e-mail provider and the MS firewall that came with the computer. Took a bit to get them to work together, but worth it.
You ISP provides firewalling? Blech.

Your PC firewall is a feel good thing but should not relied upon. You should have an air gap firewall. A dedicated device for this. You want an additional layer here.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:33 AM   #48
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
You ISP provides firewalling? Blech.

Your PC firewall is a feel good thing but should not relied upon. You should have an air gap firewall. A dedicated device for this. You want an additional layer here.
True, but it's better than no firewall, IMHO.
__________________
I used to be a racist, but I don't have much interest in it since Dale Earnhardt got killed.
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.
Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:34 AM   #49
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
You ISP provides firewalling? Blech.

Your PC firewall is a feel good thing but should not relied upon. You should have an air gap firewall. A dedicated device for this. You want an additional layer here.
Explain further please...not sure what this is. I haven't had any problems, so far.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:38 AM   #50
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 24,259
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
You ISP provides firewalling? Blech.

Your PC firewall is a feel good thing but should not relied upon. You should have an air gap firewall. A dedicated device for this. You want an additional layer here.
I don't know what all I have of firewalls. I know Stirling uses a Linux firewall running on an old computer for the house network. The network is both wired and wireless.
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:40 AM   #51
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
My laptop and the printer are both wireless, Shrek's desktop is wired. Now that I think about it, there is another firewall with the wireless.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:48 AM   #52
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
I know I have at least one firewall running. I did check for that.

PF if you are not having any problems I would feel assured that what you have is good.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:49 AM   #53
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 24,696
I just updated Ad-Aware (new version; virus signatures were already up to date) and changed the settings to have it scan daily starting at midnight. I also double-checked what it is that informs me every time a program tries to install, whether I initiated it or not (almost all the time, it's me). Windows has User Account Control in User Account Settings that you can set to tell you when something tries to install and interrupts the process, allowing you to approve or deny it. This is an excellent way to prevent stuff from installing itself.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	user-account-control-settings.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	18728  
__________________
Anyplace where people argue about food is a good place.
~ Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown, 2018
GotGarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:53 AM   #54
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
I know I have at least one firewall running. I did check for that.

PF if you are not having any problems I would feel assured that what you have is good.
The only reason we started paying for Avast, out of gratitude for the excellent service we received from the free edition, decided to pay the programmers for their hard and dedicated work. Give it a try, Carol. I stand by my recommendation.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:02 AM   #55
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
As always, some very good recommendations received from my friends at DC. I will check into them all.
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:26 AM   #56
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 24,259
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
You ISP provides firewalling? Blech.

Your PC firewall is a feel good thing but should not relied upon. You should have an air gap firewall. A dedicated device for this. You want an additional layer here.
Yeah, I figure it might be an extra layer of protection, but I wouldn't count on it.

I recently came across the term "air gap" in an article by a security expert. He puts data he doesn't want anyone to be able to access by hacking from the web on a computer that has never been connected to the internet. It isn't on his home network. To get data to and from this computer he uses a USB thumb drive.

I imagine the term is old enough that all networks were wired. Nowadays, with wireless networks, air isn't a good enough "insulator".
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:32 AM   #57
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,134
My computer is used for forums, email and surfing. The most important thing I have on here is my recipe file. LOL And I back that up on a jump drive at least once a month. I just don't like anyone coming in here and telling me what programs I should use, what ads I should read, etc. Stay out of my stuff!
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:44 AM   #58
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 24,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
My computer is used for forums, email and surfing. The most important thing I have on here is my recipe file. LOL And I back that up on a jump drive at least once a month. I just don't like anyone coming in here and telling me what programs I should use, what ads I should read, etc. Stay out of my stuff!
Any magnetic media is subject to failure. It would be a good idea to use more than one.
__________________
Anyplace where people argue about food is a good place.
~ Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown, 2018
GotGarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:06 PM   #59
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessFiona60 View Post
Explain further please...not sure what this is. I haven't had any problems, so far.
Basically you want a dedicated device, prefereably running a harded purpose built OS. I run Cisco PIX. It has no other function that to act as a firewall. If needed to stop an attack on my network I pull one cable and I have an air gap.


Quote:
Originally Posted by taxlady View Post
I don't know what all I have of firewalls. I know Stirling uses a Linux firewall running on an old computer for the house network. The network is both wired and wireless.
If the PC is used for nothing else this is what I am describing.


A software based firewall on your PC is vulnerable to attack like any other piece of software. If it is compromised then the entire system is is running on is also compromised. With a dedicated device they might compromise the device, but the devices behind that are not, immediately, compromise. They could get that way, but it isn't a given.

If someone were to compromise the PIX they aren't really doing a lot from there. It can not connect to other systems directly, they could change rules to allow a further compromise to be possible.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 09:37 PM   #60
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
One stealth feature of malware is that they get you to install them without realizing it. For example, Microsoft has a setting to hide file extensions for commonly known programs (including .EXE). I often download programs and sometimes I expect to download a ZIP or RAR (similar to ZIP) and discover the site wants to download a ...ZIP.EXE program or ...RAR.EXE program. If you haven't changed your settings off of the usual Microsoft default you won't see the .EXE and when you click your download it will install rather than extract (and probably then extract so you don't realize you just installed malware.)

The moral: Change your settings to not hide common file extensions. Microsoft should change their default so as not to hide .EXE file extensions.
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.