Cooking a whole chicken

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blondiecrt1

Assistant Cook
Help! I need help in preparing and cooking a whole chicken. It is only partially defrosted. I was thinking there might be a cool recipe for a crock pot. Any ideas or suggestions? I am really new to cooking, which is why I am happy to have discovered this forum. Thanks in advance for the help!

Cindy

I usually brine and then roast my whole chickens. I like hte moist meat and brown crispy skin

Chefs Catalog sent out this recipe via email the other day. While I probably would not make the butter sauce, its pretty simple and is a pretty tried and true way to roast a chicken.

Cooking a whole chicken is very easy so don't let it scare you.

I would do the following:

Let the chicken thaw completely. If it's only partially defrosted a quick way to speed up the process is to fill a large pot with cold water and place the chicken in it (ensure it's completely submerged), you can add a heavy chopping board to ensure the chicken does not float back up. It is critical to thaw the chicken completely prior to cooking. I personally would stay away from a microwave to speed the thawing.

Once the chicken is thawed, ensure you blotch it completely with paper napkins to ensure it's dry.

I would either cook this chicken in the oven or in a large shallow pan with a lid on a stove. I prefer the oven so I will give you the oven method.

Make a bed for the chicken to rest. If you have veggies you can use them (whole carrots, celery etc. work well). If not make a ring out of crumbled foil and place it in an oven safe pan. Place the chicken on top of it.

Next place the chicken breast side up on the veggies or foil ring and stuff the cavity with aromatics. I like to use peeled and quartered onions, chunks of carrots, large bunch of parsley and thyme and quartered lemons.