Chicken help please?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kezlehan

Senior Cook
Hello fellow cooks! I need your help if you'd be so kind!

I love to cook this casserole Beef & vegetable casserole recipe - Recipes - BBC Good Food
However, what with the price of beef lately, I want to adapt it to use chicken instead. Obviously this will alter the whole recipe. Can anyone tell me what changes I should make to the recipe to adapt it for chicken breasts? Obviously no beef stock, but I didn't know about the Worcestershire sauce and also the cooking time? When to add chicken, how long for?
Basically I'm looking to make a chicken casserole. I know how to do a beef one and I love it, how can I adapt it to make it suitable for chicken?

Thank you and sorry if I sound stupid! I'm a novice!

kezlehan said:
Hello fellow cooks! I need your help if you'd be so kind!

I love to cook this casserole Beef & vegetable casserole recipe - Recipes - BBC Good Food
However, what with the price of beef lately, I want to adapt it to use chicken instead. Obviously this will alter the whole recipe. Can anyone tell me what changes I should make to the recipe to adapt it for chicken breasts? Obviously no beef stock, but I didn't know about the Worcestershire sauce and also the cooking time? When to add chicken, how long for?
Basically I'm looking to make a chicken casserole. I know how to do a beef one and I love it, how can I adapt it to make it suitable for chicken?

Thank you and sorry if I sound stupid! I'm a novice!

You certainly don't sound stupid! Very good questions.

Maybe sub chicken broth, leave out the Worcestershire, try a bit of red wine or sherry instead. The chicken will already be browned, so you may want to reduce the cooking time. Basically, the dish will already be cooked, so you don't need to do it for as long as the beef. Keep tasting till you get what you want.

Good luck!