New range - double or single oven

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kbreit

Cook
My wife and I are in the market for a new oven/stove range, all gas. She wants a double oven and I am very hesitant about it.

- Heat bleed between ovens
- Lack of space could make baking more challenging due to lack of flexibility of rack position
- Feels like an all year compromise with once a year upside

I love baking so something that will complicate baking will be a tough sell for me. What is your experience with counter height double ovens?

While I have no direct experience, the one issue I've noticed is that neither oven is "full-sized". Not sure if it's an issue for you but a smaller double oven may not be able to fit a Thanksgiving turkey on a rack in a roasting pan.

We just bought a new stove and looked at the double ovens. Some of them are convertible to a full size oven. But each oven has limitations because of that. Also, you have to have a place for the divider when not in use. We ended up just getting a single oven, but we also have a decent sized countertop oven as well if we happen to need a second oven.

My father in law's kitchen has a double oven - a short one on top and a full-size one below. The one on top is nice for baking a tray of cookies or rolls, or broiling meat. The other holds a whole turkey easily, but you have to lean way down to put things in and take them out, so that might be an issue.

Each can be set to a different temperature; I never noticed any bleed-through of the temperatures. Ovens these days are very well insulated.