Problems with bread!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

raidencmc

Assistant Cook
I have tried making bread several times and the last 2 times I have used the same recipe it was some sort of olive bread and it did not rise as much as it should. It was 2 totally different times and different yeast. Are there recipes that are harder or easier of what can I do?

I have tried making bread several times and the last 2 times I have used the same recipe it was some sort of olive bread and it did not rise as much as it should. It was 2 totally different times and different yeast. Are there recipes that are harder or easier of what can I do?
I'm no expert, but your yeast could be the problem. You might have killed the yeast with to hot use of water, the yeast might have expired. Sorry that is all I could come up with. We have some wonderful bakers here.Here's hoping they see and can help you out. You might give a list of ingredients for us to look at.
kadesma

Not knowing the recipe, and what you did, makes it a little hard to narrow down the problem.

It could be the yeast being too old, but with two different brands of yeast that seems less likely (you did check the expiration date on the packages didn't you). If the water was too hot you could have killed the yeast that way - another would depend on the recipe and how/when you added the salt, that can kill yeast, too.

Another "rise" problem is that ****able "X number of minutes or until double" instruction in most recipes. That throws a lot of new bread bakers for a loop when their dough doesn't double in size in X minutes. The temperature makes a big difference in how quickly the dough will double. Let the dough proof until it doubles in size even if that is an hour or more. My regular bread dough takes about an hour in a warm place.

Well, that's just a couple of thoughts.