Liters vs Grams in Confectionery?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

babaliaris

Cook
I'm an engineering student working part-time in a hotel kitchen. Recently I had a disagreement with the Chef who told me that liters are the same as kilograms and anything I can measure in liters I can measure with a scale.

He put me in charge of making crepe and waffle mixtures and he just gave me a scale (measuring weight) while all of the liquids in the recipes are being measured in lt and not in weight (kg or grams).

Is he correct?

I'm positive that lt is not the same as kg since they measure two different things, volume and weight.

Maybe by approximation, you can actually assume they are the same? Though I make recipes of 30kg in total weight, that should break the approximation since the quantity is quite big and there are gonna be huge calculation errors.

Most water based liquids weigh one kilogram per liter. (Water, milk, etc. ) Based on that relationship, you can make a lot of recipes with just a scale.

This would not work with all liquids used in baking. e. g. Honey weighs substantially more than water.

you are right, he is wrong.

a liter of any and all liquids does NOT weigh one kilogram.

use specific gravity to convert - example
specific gravity of milk is 1.028 to 1.032 - it varies....
but if you need one liter of milk, 1030 grams is veddy close.
specific gravity of honey, at USDA stds, = 1.42; one liter of honey ~=1420 grams

Last edited:
Most water based liquids weigh one kilogram per liter. (Water, milk, etc. ) Based on that relationship, you can make a lot of recipes with just a scale.

This would not work with all liquids used in baking. e. g. Honey weighs substantially more than water.

What about vegetable oil (sunflower oil to be precise) or melted butter?