"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2011, 08:25 AM   #1
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 116
Error Message

When I start a new thread of any sort in the Recipes section, I can never post it due to an error message asking me to "choose whether this is a recipe". Unfortunately there's no options at all for me to choose from.

Therefore, I'm being forced to start threads in sections that are unrelated to my actual thread. I only access DC on my HTC phone, Android.

__________________
www.eatlovemove.blogspot.com
EatLoveMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:28 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,980
You can choose either 'recipe' or 'other'.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:33 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by EatLoveMove
When I start a new thread of any sort in the Recipes section, I can never post it due to an error message asking me to "choose whether this is a recipe". Unfortunately there's no options at all for me to choose from.

Therefore, I'm being forced to start threads in sections that are unrelated to my actual thread. I only access DC on my HTC phone, Android.
I have the same issue on my IPad. There is no option to choose. I go to my PC if I want to post a recipe.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:40 AM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,980
I didn't realize you were seeing a different option.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 09:43 AM   #5
Certifiable Executive Chef
 
Janet H's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 3,783
Thanks for reporting this - we'll have a look.
__________________
Forget love... I'd rather fall in chocolate!
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 11:29 AM   #6
Head Chef
 
Zereh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,503
It's a limitation on their end, not an issue with DC.
__________________
~~
Zereh

We are fed by a food industry which pays no attention to health, and healed by a health industry that pays no attention to food - Wendell Berry
Zereh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zereh
It's a limitation on their end, not an issue with DC.
Hey, hey! Are you saying we are limited?

I use the dedicated IPad DC app. Smart devices can do a lot, but I've found they can't totally replace the PC.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:17 PM   #8
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver View Post
Hey, hey! Are you saying we are limited?

I use the dedicated IPad DC app. Smart devices can do a lot, but I've found they can't totally replace the PC.
You would think if there is a dedicated app it would allow the website to perform as it does on a PC... wouldn't you? Isn't that what apps do? Otherwise what is the difference of viewing a website using an app, or simply going there from your browser?
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:33 PM   #9
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis

You would think if there is a dedicated app it would allow the website to perform as it does on a PC... wouldn't you? Isn't that what apps do? Otherwise what is the difference of viewing a website using an app, or simply going there from your browser?
IPad is a funny animal. For example, you can't play anything using Adobe Flash. There are some work-arounds, but it's not the same. There are Facebook-like apps for IPad, but they don't have the full features either. The DC IPad interface is completely different from the actual website. You can access both FB and DC from Safari and other search engines on IPad, I like the convenience of the one stop, one app. If I need to, I'll use my PC, though that use is less and less since I got my IPad.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:35 PM   #10
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I'm afraid to get rid of my laptop for a tablet-netpad type gizmo for just that reason. Of course, if I traveled it would be different.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:52 PM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Apple kind of has an iron fist regarding its stuff. They recently forced Amazon to remove its direct link to the Kindle store from the Kindle app, as Amazon refused to pay Apple 30% commission, which is Amazon's profit from Kindle book purchases. They wanted everyone to purchase ebooks from their IBooks, which are more expensive and limited in selection. Amazon said screw 'em and removed the Kindle store. Again, there are work arounds.

The nice thing about IPad is there is no way you can ever get a virus or malware, Apple so tightly controls everything.

I love the portability and convenience. There are other net pads that allow Adobe, and Amazon plans to come out with one soon, if it's not already here. The apps available for IPad are amazing, I can watch HBO and ESPN with my current Directv subscription for free. The cookbook apps are amazing. I love it!

Again, it is an accessory, not meant to replace a laptop or PC. In fact, you need a machine in order to connect to ITunes and download your updates, etc.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:54 PM   #12
Head Chef
 
Zereh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,503
Getting a drop-down list to properly function on phones (or other non-computer devices) is not easy. It's a multiple-step process to fill in that field (hit the button, menu appears, make a selection to fill in the field); phone apps are all about one-click navigation.

Easiest fix would be to have the field automatically filled in by default, with an option to change it as necessary. Both options would need to be displayed up front (instead of hidden in a menu).

Choose one: [X] RECIPE or [ ] OTHER

A simple click on OTHER would change it to look like this:

Choose one: [ ] RECIPE or [X] OTHER
__________________
~~
Zereh

We are fed by a food industry which pays no attention to health, and healed by a health industry that pays no attention to food - Wendell Berry
Zereh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:58 PM   #13
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zereh
Getting a drop-down list to properly function on phones (or other non-computer devices) is not easy. It's a multiple-step process to fill in that field (hit the button, menu appears, make a selection to fill in the field); phone apps are all about one-click navigation.

Easiest fix would be to have the field automatically filled in by default, with an option to change it as necessary. Both options would need to be displayed up front (instead of hidden in a menu).

Choose one: [X] RECIPE or [ ] OTHER

A simple click on OTHER would change it to look like this:

Choose one: [ ] RECIPE or [X] OTHER
So if I filled it in on my PC, it would automatically fill it in on my device? There is no drop-down option on IPad. Not sure about Android.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:02 PM   #14
Head Chef
 
Zereh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver View Post
So if I filled it in on my PC, it would automatically fill it in on my device? There is no drop-down option on IPad. Not sure about Android.
I was just trying to show what a work-around would have to look like. I wish there was some magical fix but I don't think there is until some programming changes are made.
__________________
~~
Zereh

We are fed by a food industry which pays no attention to health, and healed by a health industry that pays no attention to food - Wendell Berry
Zereh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:08 PM   #15
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H
Thanks for reporting this - we'll have a look.
No worries. :)
__________________
www.eatlovemove.blogspot.com
EatLoveMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:14 PM   #16
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zereh

I was just trying to show what a work-around would have to look like. I wish there was some magical fix but I don't think there is until some programming changes are made.
No prob. I just start up my now infrequently used PC! Thanks for trying!
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:08 PM   #17
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mostly in my head
Posts: 2,601
Anything ever get figured out on why posting a recipe from a phone gives the error to choose the type but no option to do so? I'm currently without a computer and will be for a bit so just have my phone. Was just curious about this.
__________________
Just because something has a duck bill doesn't mean it's a platypus. It might just be a duck.
Roger Miller: You can't roller skate in a buffalo heard, but you can be happy if you've a mind to.
purple.alien.giraffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:38 PM   #18
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,764
This should be fixed now.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.