"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 03:11 PM   #1
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
Posting problems

When writing a lengthy post my login status seems to time out after a few minutes and I'm required to login again and then try to type faster to get the post in on time. Just wondering if there is something I don't know or if I need to add a fresh hamster to the wheel in my computer! Just curious.

DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:34 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 21,539
i have a similar problem when posting from home on my desktop. i have to log in 7 or 8 times every time i want to post, then copy and paste 7 or 8 more times until it gets posted. dw's laptop using the same provider (aol) is ok, so i'm going to finally upgrade my desktop to windows 2000, from '98. could be compatability problems with '98 (i hope). what o/s are you running dampcharcoal?
__________________
The past is gone it's all been said.
So here's to what the future brings,
I know tomorrow you'll find better things
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:44 PM   #3
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
Hey, buckytom. I'm running Windows ME. Could the problem be with some sort 'idle time out' or something? I'm a moron when it comes to computers.
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:48 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 21,539
i't may have to do with time, or some kind of polling, so if your connection speed is not up to snuff, the site polls and doesn't see activity from you so it logs you off to save bandwidth. my t3 connection to the web from a 100mbps wan (read very fast) never logs me off, so it may be a speed problem...
__________________
The past is gone it's all been said.
So here's to what the future brings,
I know tomorrow you'll find better things
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:57 PM   #5
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
I live out in the boonies and can only get 56k, unless I want to pony up a thousand bucks for satellite broadband. If what you say is correct, I guess I'll just have to deal with it!
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 05:12 PM   #6
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Your problems are more than likely how you have something configured - not your OS (operating system). Well, Win ME kinda sucks swamp water ... but I would sure hate to see Bucky jump to 2000 from 98 when 98SE is more stable.

The board does "refresh" sometimes (which might be where you are getting bumped off) .... I think it might do it each time a new message is posted ... but I'm not sure .....

Two things to check out:

(1) When you log in here you want to make sure you have a checkmark in the box for "Log me on automatically each visit".

(2) Check how you have your cookies set - or any virus software that might be preventing cookies from being written. I forgot where Win ME hid it ... but it "should" be the same place as in 98 SE. From your Internet Explorer page ... click on Tools on the top row ... then scroll down and click on "Internet Options". Click on the "Privacy" tab and then on the "Advanced" button. If the "Override automatic cookie handling" button is checked - uncheck it. Log off and reboot your computer. If it's not a cookie setting conflict - then it is probably some security software issue.

I'm running DSL and 56k dial-up - Win 98SE - no problems here.
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 12:58 PM   #7
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 160
thanks michael, i have been running 98se, and did the things you've said about cookies and security, but no luck. oddly enough, the past few times i tried it, it worked ok. my wife's laptop works ok on a different phone line. i'm starting to wonder about signal to noise ratio. the phone line on my desktop is very noisy. i don't know.
btw, i have hard disks on drive sleds so i'm creating a multi boot system, depending on which drive sled is in the system
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 12:59 PM   #8
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 21,539
whoops, sorry, that was me. i forgot to log in, lol...
__________________
The past is gone it's all been said.
So here's to what the future brings,
I know tomorrow you'll find better things
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 01:16 PM   #9
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
Michael, I was going to try your suggestion but something curious happened. I clicked on "Tools" and then "Internet Options" (where the security settings are) and a window popped up saying something to the effect of, "This function can no longer be used due to restrictions in effect of the system. Please contact your system administrator." HUH??? Never seen that before! I fear a virus. Say it ain't so! :?
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 01:17 PM   #10
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
UHOH!!!
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 01:20 PM   #11
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
Sorry, said "restrictions in effect ON this system" not of. GRRR! NOT AGAIN! Show me a hacker and I'll show you a dead hacker.
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 04:28 PM   #12
 
choclatechef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,680
Oh no Charcoal! Don't bring out the "big knives"!

Seriously, I hate hackers, spyware, and viruses too!
choclatechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 04:56 PM   #13
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
Choc, I will be throwing knives with lethal accuracy and fury!!! LOL! Yeah, really makes ya wonder what the motivation is for these people! :roll: :?
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 01:56 AM   #14
Senior Cook
 
Hungry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA, Nevada and California
Posts: 320
Board Refreshing??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael in FtW
The board does "refresh" sometimes (which might be where you are getting bumped off) .... I think it might do it each time a new message is posted ... but I'm not sure ..... .

This happened to me yesterday and again tonight.

I don't remember it happening before. However, on my old E-mail, I was using the ISP's mail program. This happened frequently. Very discourging to write up a response and have it go to never - never land before you can send it.

I was in the habit of copying the message, to the cllipbpard, before I did a preview, spell check or hit the send button.

That may be what I have to start doing here.

As you suiggested I do have the log in box checked at every sign on, I have set my cookies at MEDIUM HIGH and that hasn't cause any problems on other sites.

Any other suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Charlie
__________________
Enjoy,
Charlie
Hungry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 03:32 AM   #15
Chef Extraordinaire
 
kitchenelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19,725
Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
Charlie - I have the same problem too - I feel more it has to do with a "bug" - but I'll try re-setting my security to a lower point - just out of curiosity.

I have learned to copy my message first - however there were a few times in when this first started happening that I lost a response - for which I am grateful actually :oops:

Just checked and my security setting is set at low - so I don't think that is it. I'd say "bug" on the site.
__________________
kitchenelf

"Count yourself...you ain't so many" - quote from Buck's Daddy
kitchenelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 08:20 PM   #16
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 160
HELP....It's me Wasabi. I can't log in, post a new topic or go to my profile. I get this page:

NOT FOUND
The requested URL/login php was not found on this server.

:x
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 08:22 PM   #17
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,677
Never mind.....got in.
wasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 08:22 PM   #18
Executive Chef
 
MJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA,Wisconsin
Posts: 4,567
Send a message via Skype™ to MJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous
HELP....It's me Wasabi. I can't log in, post a new topic or go to my profile. I get this page:

NOT FOUND
The requested URL/login php was not found on this server.

:x
OK, I will get to work on this for you Wasabi.
__________________
MJ
MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 08:23 PM   #19
Executive Chef
 
MJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA,Wisconsin
Posts: 4,567
Send a message via Skype™ to MJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasabi
Never mind.....got in.
Glad I could help.
__________________
MJ
MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 08:40 PM   #20
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 160
Its ME......... -DEADLY SUSHI-

Im having the same problem. I cant log in. Im getting the same thing as Wasabi. *knocking on door* LET ME IN! :(
Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using ISO and REC when posting merstarr General Cooking 70 12-13-2004 11:52 PM
Oatmeal cookie problems SweetQ Cookies 5 01-30-2004 07:03 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.