ISO help w/pastry techniques

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

whole milk

Senior Cook
Hi, I'm new to pastry but I've been practising a lot and have recently begun to feel confident. :chef: My only real models are what I've read on websites like baking911 and videos from Julia Child's television shows on PBS and I'm becoming envious that they can just roll, roll, roll and in seconds they have a perfect circle, rectangle, square. I know I need more practise but what are the techniques that you use that best help roll out a pretty dough?

Also, I've been using Jacques Pepin's (sp?) technique for puff pastry: He cuts the butter into strips then places them on 2/3 of the dough before folding and doing double turns. What I notice is that I can still see thin squares of butter by the end. Is this normal or is the marble I'm rolling on too cold (I keep it in the freezer until just before rolling). Again, I'm looking to find out what people in the real world are doing.

Cheers,

Steven