Lid sealing question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nochangeforyou

Assistant Cook
Last night I made salsa and canned it (water bath). After taking all of the jars out, the lids all appeared to be sealed well, so I left them on the counter to cool. About 2 hours later I came back, and 6 out of the 8 jars felt unsealed (you could press the lid up and down). They were still fairly warm, so I placed them in the fridge. Now this morning when I went to grab a few of them, the 6 that felt unsealed the night before feel sealed. The lids do not budge.

I am new to canning, so I am a little confused. Are these jars actually sealed? I don't really understand why that happened.

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking [emoji2]

Sometimes the lids seal and "ping" right away and sometimes they take a little longer. It sounds like they sealed as they cooled in the fridge. If you're concerned, you can reprocess them. If you do that, be sure to use new lids. The sealing compound is only good for one use.

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking [emoji2]

Sometimes the lids seal and "ping" right away and sometimes they take a little longer. It sounds like they sealed as they cooled in the fridge. If you're concerned, you can reprocess them. If you do that, be sure to use new lids. The sealing compound is only good for one use.

Okay, that makes sense! Thank you, I was very confused.

You're welcome. If you don't mind a suggestion, I started canning after I discovered this site years ago: Food in Jars - A blog dedicated to canning, preserving, and pantry staples made from scratch.

The author has written three books on canning and other types of preserving and has great information on what to do and what to expect.

A couple other good sites are:
- National Center for Home Food Preservation
- Fresh Preserving Store | Shop Ball® Mason Jars & Home Canning