How to Cook for 30 in a Really Tiny Space!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bobschunk

Assistant Cook
Hi, everybody:

I'm an enthusiastic cook, but also a naval architect, who currently has a desperate need to fit a 5 foot by 7 1/2 foot galley into a ship intended to feed a personnel complement of 30. I've found space, so far, to include one stovetop/oven range (sufficient to bake 6 loaves of filling bread per 30 minute bake time) as well as one kitchen sink sufficient to allow washing of cooking vessels and serving dishes for 30 persons, a standard-sized refrigerator, and four cooktops (sufficient to cook pasta or rice for a crew of 30), but such an arrangement leaves my cook no space for a cutting board or other food-processing space.

While I realize that such an arrangement leaves little room for anything but meals specifically tailored for such a confined space (as the roasting of meat in the oven would conflict with the baking of bread in the oven, and the preparation of sauces would require stovetop space required for pasta or rice), does anyone on this forum have some idea as to a more efficient manner of preparing food aboard a ship with such a confined kitchen space?

How about a cutting board/work space that fits over the sink? And, of course, a slot to put that board into when you aren't using it.

(Good luck with this task--sounds impossible to me.)

Sparrowgrass:

Thanks for the tip.

I should have thought of it myself, as I once lived in one of those Manhattant tenements with the bathtub in the kitchen, and we used to cover the tubs (when not in use) with removable countertops.