Stainless steel canning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gunslingor

Assistant Cook
Is there a better canning system than mason jars? Why not stainless steel? Why do we need thst silicon seal, ain't there another way? Something more reusable more practical, more durable... one piece tops.

The LDS also can vegetables/meat in their canning groups in cities. They have the equipment and can use the metal cans.

University extension service out of Alaska. Canning fish in metal cans.

tattler makes a plastic lid with a rubber seal (there are competing companies that make these), and they use the standard canning ring. These are reusable tops. The rings should be replaced every 7-15 times they are used. I use hundreds of the wide mouth and regular tattler rings and lids for canning.

I dont know guys. I'm an engineer and feel like the canning industry might be price gouging us and making our lives harder. They charge almost as much for the lids as the jars, and its just a pain. There has to be a better system. Even the jars of stuff you buy in the grocery store seem superior... but I'm really looking for better.

It is more than possible to create an air tight seal with a stainless materials, glass too I think they do it for weed and lab equipment. It's just a mater of precision.

There has to be a glass or stainless container that screws on, single material, lasts forever, works for canning and is easy peasy.

Canning was invented under Napoléon... it hasn't gone anywhere since, really?

Hi gunslingor, Welcome to DC.

What about the old time glass lids with the metal snap downs. But even those need the rubber replaced over time. Plus the jars and lids need to be carefully checked for chips

Yeah, bought those years ago, now I don't trust them and too many sizes to find rings.