Tofu falling apart

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

karmann

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am new to cooking tofu. I bought the extra firm tofu and wanted to cut it into nice neat cubes to bake, but it was anything but firm when I opened the package and it fell apart into a rather wet mess... I was able to cube some of it but a lot of mush got wasted. Should I have refrigerated it first? My supermarket does sell refrigerated tofu also, but it's labelled 'silken' so I thought that would be soft and I want firm. TIA!

Ive had issues with different brands.
I find some brands better ( and firmer ) than others even if both labeled ' extra firm'
Pressing it to try and squeeze the extra liquid out of it may help.
Its amazing how much water each block contains .

What used to do is wrap the tofu in a kitchen towel, then use something heavy ( like a pot, or a small cutting board with cans on it to press the tofu ( about 1/2 hour or so)

I now use the " tofu buddy" I think its called.
Made specifically to press tofu ( basically a box with perforations to let the draining water out and the pressure created by a huge spring). I works very well, and easier than piling things up. Also a more even press.

Another thing , depending on what you are doing with the tofu is you can freeze it then defrost itt. That will change the texture completely , giving it more of a chewy texture ( and a lot of the water drains out once defrosted.

Refrrigeration may firm it up a bit, but more likely a brand thing.

Thanks! Actually, even though I was very careful, it was getting it out of the package that caused the most mess. Didn't come out all in one nice block. I'll try again. I'd actually prefer a bit of a chewy texture, so I may try freezing it first.

This actually reminded me of a story.