Any scientists here?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenny1999

Senior Cook
could food pass through airport or railway security check (e.g. x-ray or other devices?) be altered, affected, ionized or polluted etc?

NO, with the exception of a glass of milk which would probably be spilt.

that being said, which type of food are you trying to sneak thru?

But I'm not a scientist.

Probably wouldn't be damaged in any way, but if anything is found hidden, by x-ray, dogs, or other method, the luggage, or whatever it is in, will be opened, and many things will be thrown out, as countless things cannot be brought into this country (not sure of where you would be taking what), due to agriculture - diseases and insects can be brought in on many foods. Of course, things like diseases and invasive insects usually are brought in on huge food shipments, not people like you and me! Through the years, some of the foods that are brought in became irradiated on a regular basis, which does kill some seeds, but x-rays wouldn't do this to your food, unless the x-rays were very powerful!

So, what would you be trying to ship? Or are you just travelling in your own country?

Last edited:
I am not a scientist, but am an electrical engineer with training in RF, EMF, Light theory, radiation theory, including x-rays, masers, lasers, etc.

X-rays are photons emitted at a certain wavelength (10 picometers to 10 nanometers). At this wavelength, the photons carry considerable energy, and can pass through many substances, such as soft, organic tissue, plastics, etc. They then strike a film, much like old camera film, which is sensitive tothe X-ray light spectrum, creating an image on that film, or in the case of airport security, the photons strike an array of light sensitive diodes, creating millions of pixels to create an image.