Need a new sauce for fried calamari

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marmalady

Executive Chef
Hubby looooves his fried calamari; thought I'd surpise him with a new dipping sauce; in the past, I've used a simple marinara; a sort of tapanade of roasted tomato, garlic and basil; jalepeno tartar sauce; and one we use for coconut shrimp, of orange marmalade and horseradish.

Anyone have any other ideas? TIA!

I personally do not like to use a dipping sauce with mine. I just go with a simple squirt of lemon.

I am not good with sauces so I am not going to be much help here, but maybe you could do something with lemongrass? What I do not know though.

Your orange marmalade and horseradish sounds excellent!

Tx, GB - he does lemon and a sauce:wacko: ; just thought I'd try to surprise him tonite - he's had a rough week!

The marmalade/horseradish I first had on some coconut shrimp years ago at a restaurant called Hemingway's on Hilton Head Island, SC. Was absolutely awesome! When I make it at home, I use about 1/2 cup of marmalade, add 1 or more tablespoons of horseradish and a little of the 'juice', and mix it up; depending on how hot you want it, of course. It's good with fried chicken fingers as well as shrimp.

Thanks Marm. I can't wait to try that. I have some chicken fingers and horseradish in the fridge. All I need is the marmalade. This might be my dinner tonight :)

Perhaps a lemon grass pesto-like sauce, served with pasta? Or a roasted red pepper & garlic pesto-like sauce.

Last edited:
i might be too late but, marm, how about going asian, and using panko to bread the squid? then you could make a soy/ginger/garlic sauce, or a sweet chilli and cilantro sauce, and so on.

as far as regular breaded squid, i've made a tasty ranch dressing with chopped shallots and chives that was good.

or akin to gb's suggestion, lemon, garlic, celery, red onion viniagrette.