Freezing zucchini for future use

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
Didnt think I was going to have much of a zucchini year in the garden, but things are starting to kick in.

My wife makes a good zucchini bread, but does not want to make it in the near future.

My question is, could zucchini be grated and frozen or grated and blanched and frozen, or grated and squeeze out all the mosture and frozen...you get the idea, for later use?

If not, I have to come up with a way to use about 10 zucchinis in the next few days ( with at least 2 more on the way in the very near future).

Since it has a high water content, I would expect frozen zucchini to thaw into a soggy mess. Shredding and squeezing it will probably help but I have no experience with that.

I would try the shredding and squeezing - maybe try it today, and freeze it overnight, and see what it will thaw like. I do something similar with those bottle gourds, which might have even more water, though I'm not sure. I use the FP with a fine julienne disk, and squeeze it, and freeze it. It worked well in a zucchini bread - a little watery, but that's what it adds to the bread, and it's no different than using fresh. I also used it in flatbreads - something zucchini would probably work well in, too, since it's very similar. I also put it in many curries, dals, and other soup like dishes, and it just sort of disappears in them.

That's exactly what I have done - shred, salt lightly, leave to drain in a colander, rinse and squeeze dry. I freeze them in recipe-size portions in deli containers because they're reusable. I like to make veggie fritters with them. You can also make veggie fritters and freeze those.