French Bread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carolynnx

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone, this is only my 2nd day as a member on D.C I'm still finding my way around but so far its be tons of fun, so I have been searching for the perfect French bread recipe, I love baking bread , I have even gone so far as to take measurements of my oven and had a stone mason cut 1/4 stone sections to fit in the bottom rack to mimic a stone oven, I have tried several different French bread recipes , with no luck either the crust is perfect and the inside is not right or the inside is perfect and the crust rubbery , I have tried , steam in the oven , bricks, pizza stones , but just can't quite get it, I'm no novice in the kitchen but for some reason French bread isn’t my best friend right now, any ideas tips, direction would be very appreciated .
Thanks.
Carolynn
:chef:

It's hard to tell without ingredients, quantities, and details of how they're being handled. But we'll assume a valid recipe and proper technique and make a few points, because I suspect that you might be trying too hard to do things "French."

Steam is kind of hard to do in conventional ovens, and all conventional ovens differ. I'd suggest instead to brush the dough with water just before they go into the oven. I used to spray or poor a cup of water into a hot pan in the bottom, but it was no better than brushing.