Rice pudding tests...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CWS4322

Chef Extraordinaire
I have leftover basmati rice scented with cardamon. After a long teleconf with a friend who trained as a pastry chef, I've decided to do two, maybe three test recipes.

My base recipe is baked in the oven at 375 for about an hour.

3-4 eggs beaten with 1 c sugar and 2 c milk.

Add nutmeg, cinnamon, ground cardamon, vanilla. 3/4 c raisins plumped in 3-4 T of boiling water (drained), 3/4 c rice.

So, to change it up, I've decided to do two (maybe three) tests.

The change ups are based on the above, but the first one will be to sub out 1 T of the boiling water for Grand Marnier, add fresh orange zest.

The second one will sub out 1/2 of the milk for coconut cream (taking the thick stuff--oil--off the top and using the liquid), 1 T dark rum when plumping the raisins.

The third version will sub out 1/2 of the milk for coconut cream, add about 1/2 c coconut flakes rehydrated in 3-4 T of boiling water, the Grand Marinier and orange zest. I will probably drop the vanilla to 1/2 for each. I am considering using "vanillla infused" sugar...she talked me out of using maple syrup. I considered subbing 1/4 c fresh orange juice for some of the liquid...I've been mulling this over since Sunday...thoughts?

So do I (love rice pudding). I'm just a rudimentary cook, but I'll try and remember to measure everything for each test recipe--and not adjust to taste <g>. I tend to do basic recipe and then adjust--I'll try to be a test cook this time.

Because my DH isn't here at the farm during the week, I'm going to freeze the excess rice and make the next recipe once the first / second one is gone. I'm planning on eating rice pudding for breakfast tomorrow and Thursday!

Last edited: