Underrated kinds of fish... and good recipes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aaron Craine

Assistant Cook
Hello,

A friend of mine is visiting next month. They are fish enthusiasts and know almost everything there is to know about fish and sea food in general. They eat fish nearly every day and enjoy all types of fish. They especially enjoy types of fish which are not very common (eg they are less interested in Salmon, Trout and Barrumundi, as you can find these things everywhere.) Moreover, although I occasionally cook seafood & fish, I am not an expert in seafood and kind of fish. Moreover, I hope to impress them whilst they are visiting with something slightly out of the ordinary but also tasty!!!

Does anyone have any good recipes for fish which I can try,

Thankyou so much,

Aaron Craine

Wow, tall order. Where are they from? Just to give us an idea of what may or may not impress them. As in North America, South, Central, Maritimes, Europe, etc. don't need to know exact but it might help to know the area. Do they love fish because they live in a coastal area?

All that being said, I have quite a few recipes but they are for pretty mundane fish. Some, I think, are different - all tasty.
Usually someone who likes fish also likes shellfish. Opens up another world. Mussels, clams, oysters, shrimp, lobster - (Squid and octopus think I would avoid, they're very touchy.)

Keep in mind, if they are real experts at cooking their fish - don't try to pass them in their own game! LOL
Actually, why not take them to the fish market, let them choose a fish and get them to impress you with their skills.

But even if they do - you can still be knowledgeable! I'm sure there are going to be tons of recipes about to come your way!

Don't forget that appetizers can impress! Simple but many don't do Escargot thinking it is difficult.