Wine Pairing with Shrimp Scampi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msmith0213

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am new to this site and am hoping someone can help me find a good wine to be served with Shrimp Scampi. Bringing a bottle to a friend's house tonight and he suggested that I might want to bring a red since the shrimp is "very garlic-y."

I could only find one wine pairing with shrimp scampi online and that recommended Sauvignon Blanc.

So, I'm wondering - shoudl I do white or should I do red? And if it's red - what kind?
Thoughts from any of you would be appreciated! Thanks. :chef:

i'd get a sparkling white, or a german sweet white, and to keep red heads happy, a pinot noir.

(i am far from an expert, so that's just my taste. looking forward to expert recommendations here.)

i.c., verablue, chefjune, where are you?

Last edited:
Shrimps are generally too delicate for a red wine. Sauvignon is Ok, but also a Vermentino. You can use a very light red, or pinky wine if you have shrimps with some sort of tomato sauce. Or even for shrimps in sweet sauces.
But, for grilled or boiled shrimps....White, please.....;)
Boiled shrimps, rouille sauce, and....champagne? My God......Something worthy to kill for.....:LOL: :cool:

lol, i knew i liked you rdg.

many people say "to die for". to me, your family and your country are the only things "to die for".

but i'd kill for good food!

I'd go for a sauvignon blanc as well. For a red, a montepulciano may be a good idea. Tom's suggestion of a pinot noir is also a good one.

My favorite wine with any shrimp dish (regardless of garlic) not in a red sauce is Pinot Grigio. (Although I have to admit that I'm biased because that's my favorite white wine anyway - lol!)

Anyway, I find it light, crisp, yet still assertive enough to carry its own.