"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cook's Tools
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2012, 10:54 PM   #1
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,096
ISO a Good Meat Probe Thermometer

Over the past dozen years, I've had three of these. Two Polders like the one in the picture and another brand I can't remember. My current Polder just started acting up. I did some testing in the usual boiling and ice water mediums and was able to determine I need a new instrument.

I'm looking for recommendations. I don't want another Polder or one that makes me select BEEF, RARE and beeps at 140ºF.

I'd appreciate recommendations please. What do you use that you really like?
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:08 PM   #2
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
I have a Polder probe model too. Sometimes I just scratch my head at how messed up the buttons are, and slam the probe in my roast and ignore everything but the internal temperature.

OTOH I have a Polder instant read shirt pocket thermometer that is just perfect. It has too buttons: ON/OFF and C/F.

Maybe Polder should stick to two buttons.

And I don't want advice on RARE, MR, etc. What kind of idiot needs a thermometer that knows more about this than the chef? I think you and I agree that we don't want to have some stupid brainy thermometer telling us how to cook meat/poultry/fish. We have the Internet for that.
__________________

Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,077
I was looking at this one:

Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer | Williams-Sonoma
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:50 AM   #4
Executive Chef
 
Hoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The edge of the Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 3,306

I use one like this...I ain't real keen on depending on batteries.
I am quite sure this isn't the answer you are lookin' for.
Just saying this rig ain't never let me down.
Hoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:11 PM   #5
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoot View Post

I use one like this...I ain't real keen on depending on batteries.
I am quite sure this isn't the answer you are lookin' for.
Just saying this rig ain't never let me down.
I have a couple of those. You're right, they are dependable, and they're very inexpensive too.
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:57 PM   #6
Sous Chef
 
Silversage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 951
I would look at anything from ThermoWorks. Their instant read Thermapen is fabulous.

ThermoWorks.com - Home of the Thermapen

They do have a probe thermometer - might be worth a look.

ThermoWorks Original Oven Thermometer / Timer. Classic design and simplicity at a GREAT price.
__________________
In our house, dog hair is a condiment!
OMG! I decided to blog!
Silversage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:03 PM   #7
Head Chef
 
GLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Near Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,216
I have the Original Thermoworks.



$19 on Amazon. I like it. It works. The alarm volume is adequate. The battery life is extraordinary. (I often forget to turn it off, and it's been over a year.)
__________________
"Kitchen duty is awarded only to those of manifest excellence..." - The Master, Dogen
GLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #8
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,096
Thanks guys. I've heard good things about the thermapen. I'll check out the site.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:23 PM   #9
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Small Town Mississippi
Posts: 17,515
Couldn't make it through the day without one of my Them-O-Pens.......

For a remote...I've had as good a luck as any with the Maverick Line...
__________________
There is only one Quality worse than Hardness of Heart, and that is Softness of Head.

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:34 PM   #10
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
I'm an amateur chef, I have never met any professional chefs... So I pose a question:

I cannot imagine a professional chef working without a shirt pocket instant read thermometer. For my profession it is as unthinkable as an engineer not having a DMM (digital multi-meter, capable of measuring voltage, current and resistance of electrical circuits).

It seems to me that every chef, professional or amateur, should have at least one instant read thermometer.

Even better to have a constant probe in that roast in your oven or smoker.
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:53 PM   #11
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,096
I have one of these and use it all the time.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:29 PM   #12
Executive Chef
 
RPCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Logan County, Colorado
Posts: 2,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silversage View Post
I would look at anything from ThermoWorks. Their instant read Thermapen is fabulous.

ThermoWorks.com - Home of the Thermapen

They do have a probe thermometer - might be worth a look.

ThermoWorks Original Oven Thermometer / Timer. Classic design and simplicity at a GREAT price.
Thermapen all the way. I have the original one and it works like a charm.

I bought their probe and love it too. I wouldn't make a roast without it.
__________________
Rick
RPCookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:50 PM   #13
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
Meat-Probe Thermometers - Cook's Illustrated
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:21 PM   #14
Executive Chef
 
bakechef's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,127
My wired probe thermometer has a silicone coated cord and I really prefer that. I had two with uncoated cords and as soon as the metal cord got squished or damaged in any way, it wouldn't read correctly. I've had the one with the coated cord for about 5 years now and no problems. I think that I got it at Target, so not a super expensive one.
__________________
I'm Bloggin'

https://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:26 PM   #15
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
My Polder metal cord has lasted several years with no perceptible wear.

Never mind the stupid, useless buttons..
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:51 PM   #16
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,096
I've been using my Polder in the Weber kettle to monitor grill temps when smoking. Pinching the cable under the lid may have contributed to it's demise even though it's advertised for BBQ use.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:17 PM   #17
Executive Chef
 
Greg Who Cooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: in my kitchen
Posts: 3,794
Maybe you should have run it through the rotisserie hole.

I've closed my Polder thermometer remote probe in the oven door but that door is softened by gaskets.
Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:19 PM   #18
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 22,309
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoot View Post

I use one like this...I ain't real keen on depending on batteries.
I am quite sure this isn't the answer you are lookin' for.
Just saying this rig ain't never let me down.
I have had problems with electronic thermometers, so I use one similar to Hoot's.

Mine is for candy and deep frying. It goes up to 400F. It's dishwasher safe. It reads faster than any instant read thermometer that I have ever used. I can calibrate it in boiling water / ice water using the adjusting nut just below the head, on the stem.
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:00 AM   #19
Executive Chef
 
justplainbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxlady View Post
I have had problems with electronic thermometers, so I use one similar to Hoot's.

Mine is for candy and deep frying. It goes up to 400F. It's dishwasher safe. It reads faster than any instant read thermometer that I have ever used. I can calibrate it in boiling water / ice water using the adjusting nut just below the head, on the stem.
+ 1
justplainbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:22 PM   #20
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,721
I recently bought a CDN ProAccurate. So far so good.

I have the standard Maverick for the smoker (with the box and food probes).

If you broke the probe wire you could always get a new one.
__________________

__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
meat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×