Knife set for wedding gift

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mcintosh233

Assistant Cook
Hey total newb here

I'm looking to get a wedding gift for friends, thinking about getting a knife set for them. Being a keen samurai lover the idea of the layered blade with the beautiful marking is hugely appealing to me.

The only thing is the getting the right set. Been looking at the Naifu D67 range coming in at around £280 for the 8 piece block set. They have 67 layers and look pretty nice. However I cant seem to find any info on them other than the PR blurbs that have been sent out. Actual user reviews or even images or videos that aren't lifted off their main site don't seem to exsist, which concerns me.

I have practically no skills or knowledge when it comes to cooking but the couple I'm buying for are dead into it, so I would like to get them something they would really appreciate. He's the kind of guy who'd crack the whetstone and oil out rediculously frequently so can get excited about how sharp his knifes are, while getting the piece of paper out for sharpness demonstrations for anyone who'll listen. However the real test would be if the bride liked them and found them practical for everyday use.

I think around the £250 mark is the kind of range I'd be comfortable spending, would love them to look great but also back that up with stellar performance as well. Any recommendations or advice would be great as I have been pretty much going by price and looks

Thanks for any feedback

I've never heard of them before, so I did some research
Know Your Steel | Buying Kitchen Knives on a Budget

from there I found this
About Damascus Professional Knives | Chef's Knife Store